Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: EGT codeout stuff  (Read 7901 times)
judeisnotobscure
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +38/-10
Offline Offline

Posts: 379


« on: August 11, 2011, 08:58:23 AM »

I've done several cars with egt codeouts... i've had trouble by only coding out the 6 scalars as listed in s4 wiki. Those work well for leaving the egts plugged in but I've made just changed a couple other things and been able to unplug egts without any ill effects.

set tabgss and tabgss2 to max (1229)... this will help if you plan on unplugging egts.
I also like to lower tabgbts by 100 or so to help kick in the bts fueling sooner off calculated egts.

I hope this helps a few people.
Logged

I have a b5 s4
but i just want to dance.
NOTORIOUS VR
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +50/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 1056


« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2011, 10:22:04 AM »

nice... good post Smiley
Logged

SCHNELL ENGINEERING BLOG ·  STANDALONE ECUS · TUNING · DYNO · WIRING · PARTS · VEMS
Google Talk: NOTORIOUS.VR
n00bs start here: http://s4wiki.com/wiki/Tuning
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +425/-52
Offline Offline

Posts: 9555


WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2011, 10:40:50 AM »

Thanks for the tip! I've often wondered if editing the EGT limits would help. Good to see it works! I'll add it to the wiki time permitting.
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
nehalem
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +33/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 617


« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2011, 11:53:58 AM »

Good call man.  The stock sensor limit is 1049, so I just set TABGSS/TABGSS2 to 1100.  I agree on setting TABGBTS lower.  The stock is 450, I've set mine at 400.  Probably the best way to do this is drive around and figure out what the average "model temperature" is @2500rpm when you are 50-60% throttle with increasing throttle angle.  In other words, when you plan on stomping on the gas, it switches maps...   I have yet to do that but I know its lower than 450...  I think its like 375 or so...  350 might be a bit low.
Logged
judeisnotobscure
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +38/-10
Offline Offline

Posts: 379


« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2011, 12:01:16 PM »

yeah, i have mine set to 400 or there abouts.
Logged

I have a b5 s4
but i just want to dance.
Snow Trooper
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +64/-24
Offline Offline

Posts: 676


WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2011, 08:49:51 PM »

What issues did you have with stock values?
Logged
paracaidista2.7T
Newbie
*

Karma: +5/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 21


« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2011, 09:32:40 PM »

What issues did you have with stock values?

If left stock, they will set codes if you physically unplug the sensors. Even if coded so as not to perform any function.
Logged
Snow Trooper
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +64/-24
Offline Offline

Posts: 676


WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2011, 09:53:50 PM »

That has not been my experience, I recall simply following the wiki.  No codes.
Logged
judeisnotobscure
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +38/-10
Offline Offline

Posts: 379


« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2011, 03:34:51 AM »

I wouldn't get a code with the stock values, but the fueling was acting differently with egts plugged in vs. Unplugged... now it doesn't matter, the fueling does the same thing every time with the new values.
Logged

I have a b5 s4
but i just want to dance.
tnel20
Full Member
***

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 139


« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2011, 12:52:14 PM »

So is this correct if i just leave them plugged in


Logged
judeisnotobscure
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +38/-10
Offline Offline

Posts: 379


« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2011, 01:54:37 PM »

yup, you should be fine with them plugged in.
Logged

I have a b5 s4
but i just want to dance.
ddillenger
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +618/-19
Offline Offline

Posts: 5647


« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2015, 11:25:01 PM »

BEL uses KFTABGSS (map) as opposed to TABGSS (scalar). You must max the entire map, in addition to what is in the wiki.
Logged

Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience!

Email/Google chat:
DDillenger84(at)gmail(dot)com

Email>PM
prj
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +289/-29
Offline Offline

Posts: 3513


« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2015, 11:54:02 PM »

There is no need to max anything. EGT codeout is three codewords. CDATR, CDATS, CATR.

P.S. Make sure to modify the fueling strategy so you don't grenade your engine.
« Last Edit: March 24, 2015, 11:55:35 PM by prj » Logged
ddillenger
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +618/-19
Offline Offline

Posts: 5647


« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2015, 11:48:47 AM »

There is no need to max anything. EGT codeout is three codewords. CDATR, CDATS, CATR.

P.S. Make sure to modify the fueling strategy so you don't grenade your engine.

Any thoughts as to why EGT's aren't included in the powerstage? Error classes suck Sad
Logged

Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience!

Email/Google chat:
DDillenger84(at)gmail(dot)com

Email>PM
b4A4nowA6
Full Member
***

Karma: +1/-4
Offline Offline

Posts: 117


« Reply #14 on: April 01, 2015, 08:35:31 PM »

BEL uses KFTABGSS (map) as opposed to TABGSS (scalar). You must max the entire map, in addition to what is in the wiki.
Thanks, I did not see this post originally. I just retuned my bin so we will see what happens after a couple days. Before I did what you mentioned, my EGT codes came back up, BUT I was able to follow my higher load and boost profile. Problem was the increased power helped my already poopy turbos completely take a crap Undecided
Thanks for the tip for the BEL again
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.024 seconds with 18 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.001s, 0q)