Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Needing some General Info  (Read 5033 times)
DYLANtheWHITE

« on: March 28, 2013, 05:48:05 PM »

Hello Everybody!

So, I'm very new to the whole tuning thing, but this is something that I'm very interested in learning about. Is there a thread for beginners, that goes over general basics? Like terms, and such. I would Like to get familiar with terminology so that when I'm searching for info, I know what I'm reading. Anyone recommend any readings? Couldn't find a Tuning for Dummies book Tongue

I have an 04' VW GLI 1.8t AWP 180hp
ddillenger

« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2013, 06:06:18 PM »

http://s4wiki.com/wiki/Tuning

Welcome.

The terminology you refer to is based on the FR (funktionsrahmen). Take a look at the translated modules if you have any questions.

Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience!

Email/Google chat:
DDillenger84(at)gmail(dot)com

Email>PM
DYLANtheWHITE

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2013, 07:54:28 PM »

Awesome!
thats exactly what I was looking for! Time to crack down and hit the books!  Cheesy

Thanks!
DYLANtheWHITE

« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2013, 09:05:35 PM »

I have downloaded a bunch of bosch documents of all the map terminology, but theres a few terms I see a lot that are used in these docs that Im not seeing it defined. The term is "lambda"? It's probably so basic it doesn't need to be explained but its over my head  Undecided haha. Does it have any thing to do with the greek letter?  Huh

Also "damos" im seeing around a lot. It appears that damos means file?
ddillenger

« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2013, 09:13:14 PM »

Damos is a definition file for identifying maps and scalars in flashes (commonly called bins). It's a winOLS extension.

Lambda is Air/Fuel ratio. The o2 sensors are technically lambda sensors. A lambda of 1 is stoich, or an AFR of 14.7.

Lambda as referenced on this forum relates to fueling.