Pages: [1]
Author Topic: KW protocol + additional sensors to OBD2 logger  (Read 15802 times)
reinoso

« on: October 31, 2012, 05:49:25 AM »

Hello all,

I am an electronic engineer and very passionate about diagnostic protocols, specially older and non-standard. I have a C20LET GSI, and I always wanted to use modern OBD2 software tools in it.

I have developed a device which is able to translate old Keyword Protocols to standard OBD2 CAN. Besides that, some analog sensors can be connected and the data is added to the OBD2 stream too, so you can log stock sensors + additional sensors all together.

http://www.proenium.com/products/pge1/

KW1281 is not finished yet, but I need to know some impressions about the device before adding fully support to it.

Regards.
prj

« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2012, 04:01:58 PM »

I don't really want to sound like a dick, but you are basically advertising your product here, are you not?

KW1281 and so on is not interesting, it is way too slow for any real time logging.
McMess on the older ECU's is much more interesting, if you want to have fast data monitoring. I just intercept the stock diagnostic routine and write my own logic and own protocol.

That said - I don't see the point of your module as is.
Most people here work with ME7 and up, and those ECU's have fast data logging protocols from factory, and we have the tools to use them.

PM's will not be answered, so don't even try.
Log your car properly.
reinoso

« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2012, 08:04:20 PM »

I'm not advertising anything, yet. I'm sorry if that was the impression.