Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Talking about ecu (read-open)protection, write signature, tag no read etc..  (Read 7437 times)
Khendal

Hello, i've started to do some little mod to my friends just to try a bit Cheesy ...and i'd like to know what is possible to use o write inside the ecu for protection and signature...or encrypted signature... i don't know ... Wink

Are there programs outside that do this work or just write by hand ? Cheesy

How do they work ?
Thanks  
« Last Edit: April 01, 2017, 03:55:12 AM by Khendal » Logged
_nameless

Cheesy

If you are in the market for a tune and would like the ease of downloading and flashing a dyno tested tune for a fair price check out https://instatune.sellfy.store/
Khendal

Cheesy

Hola Marty Wink

Really ... i don't need protection and other similar because i'm studying what i've found here and i'm not a professional tuning... but i'd like to apply something similar a signature... in vagcom and in hex ... i've seen in a ecu something to encrypt ... is it right? Exist something like this?
nubcake

Generally - if you have to ask questions like this, then highly likely your work is not worth protecting. If only to avoid embarrassment when someone reads it out. Don't take this as a personal insult. Smiley
If you want a signature to find out who built upon your file - slightly change some irrelevant (unused) map.
If you want to leave a message for whoever reads the tune out - use free area in the binary, you can leave a friggin poem there.
If you want to completely protect the binary from being read out - that's generally not possible with ME7.
There are complicated ways to make read (or interpretation of the readout) a bit harder, but I won't really go too deep here. Let's just say that it involves low-level assembly programming and/or hardware mods to the ECU. I'm not a big fan of the latter.