Pages: [1] 2 3
Author Topic: S4 B5: 17743/P1335 - Engine Torque Monitor 2: Control Limit Exceeded  (Read 40884 times)
rnagy86

Hello,

So i've been hitting this error code for about 3 months when I slowly accelerate in 2nd gear and I hit 3800-4000 rpm the car stalls right away and goes into limp mode with MIL.
If I restart the engine the MIL goes away but the intermittent code stay until I clear it with VAG-COM.
I did not get this error code previously so I tought something might have broken in the car.

According to http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/17743/P1335 there can be several things that can cause this, so I did the following:
- Intake hose(s) or intake system leaks (Unmetered Air) after MAF == NO LEAKS
- Mass Air Flow Sensor (G70) faulty (replaced it with a brand new one)
- Engine Coolant Temperature sensor faulty (replaced it with a brand new one)
- Restricted Air or Fuel Filters (cleaned out my K&N filter and replaced fuel filter)

The only thing I did not do is to check the Check Intake Air Temperature sensor because according to VAG-COM the temperature values seemed sane for me. The only thing that changed since summer when I did not get this code is that now it's kinda humid and cold outside (- 5-8 C).

THe other thing is that I do not get this error when i am doing 100% TPS, where according to my vag-com logs I get up to 499nm. The max specified torque specified by ASR is 599.9.
Why the hell does it think that I exceed that by doing 50% TPS in 2nd gear.

The car is a S4 B5 (2000.05 from Switzerland) has RS4 K04 turbos, 85mm MAF, a high flow fuel pump, stock injectors and stock FPR.
Initially it came with a D-box but I managed to get parts from a crashed S4 from the UK which was running the above setup.