NefMoto

Technical => Reverse Engineering => Topic started by: elRey on September 07, 2014, 12:34:29 PM



Title: Are NOPS required if area is skipped all together?
Post by: elRey on September 07, 2014, 12:34:29 PM
If I delete a function and jmp over it all together do I have to fill it with NOPS or can I just fill it with FF ?


Thanks,
Rey


Title: Re: Re: Are NOPS required if area is skipped all together?
Post by: technic on September 07, 2014, 02:46:56 PM
If you jump over the whole function, it can be FF:ed, but you have to be sure the function isn't called from somewhere


Title: Re: Re: Are NOPS required if area is skipped all together?
Post by: technic on September 07, 2014, 02:57:04 PM
As long as the instruction pointer never points to that code, it can be anything. If you are removing instructions from code that is executed - you need to use NOP.


Title: Re: Are NOPS required if area is skipped all together?
Post by: elRey on September 07, 2014, 04:04:34 PM
thank you