NefMoto

Technical => Data Logging => Topic started by: ottosan on April 17, 2017, 10:13:11 AM



Title: Can't connect when ignition is on
Post by: ottosan on April 17, 2017, 10:13:11 AM
Hello,

First of all I want to say a big thank you to all Nefmoto members and a special thanks to everybody who's idea was to start this awesome forum.
It's definitely a Bible for all who want to understand how to tune a car and much more.
I'm new to this forum and to tuning generally.
My current problem is that the VisualME7logger connects only when the ignition is off.

As soon as I turn the ignition on it disconnects and I get the message:

Error! Exit code:4
=>could not connect to ECU, exiting ...
exiting (cause=0x4)...


Also if I pull dash fuse on the running engine I have no problem to connect.

It would be great if anybody could help me understand what is going on.

to the car:
A3 8L AUQ Tiptronic.

to the cable:
EBAY VAG COM FTDI (BLUE CABLE)

Many thanks in Advance.


Title: Re: Can't connect when ignition is on
Post by: nyet on April 17, 2017, 10:22:12 AM
Split topic.

Known issue.

some clusters interfere with logging.

Run a separate kline to the ecu when logging or log with cluster unplugged.


Title: Re: Can't connect when ignition is on
Post by: ottosan on April 17, 2017, 10:41:32 AM
Split topic.

Known issue.

some clusters interfere with logging.

Run a separate kline to the ecu when logging or log with cluster unplugged.

Could you please tell which one is the K-Line and how to connect it to the ECU?


Title: Re: Can't connect when ignition is on
Post by: aef on April 18, 2017, 05:28:28 AM
pin43 on the big connector because we are talking about me7 ecu


Title: Re: Can't connect when ignition is on
Post by: ottosan on April 18, 2017, 11:27:01 AM
pin43 on the big connector because we are talking about me7 ecu


Thank you


Title: Re: Can't connect when ignition is on
Post by: prj on May 02, 2017, 05:14:45 PM
Set connection method to SLOW-0x00.
Set the speed to the maximum that it allows.
Turn on the ignition.
Connect, start logging.

Start car.

Should work just fine on AUQ.


Title: Re: Can't connect when ignition is on
Post by: ottosan on June 01, 2017, 02:11:00 AM
Set connection method to SLOW-0x00.
Set the speed to the maximum that it allows.
Turn on the ignition.
Connect, start logging.

Start car.

Should work just fine on AUQ.


I just want to share my observations and experience how I manage ME7looger to get to work.

Somewhere in the forum I have read that connecting the "NefMoto VW Audi ME7 ECU Flasher", disconnecting it and than connecting the ME7logger should work.
it was explained that some IMMOS are blocking the connection and "NefMoto VW Audi ME7 ECU Flasher" is disabling it while connecting.

I have tried as described and it worked.



Title: Re: Can't connect when ignition is on
Post by: nyet on June 01, 2017, 10:43:09 AM
Somewhere in the forum I have read that connecting the "NefMoto VW Audi ME7 ECU Flasher", disconnecting it and than connecting the ME7logger should work.
it was explained that some IMMOS are blocking the connection and "NefMoto VW Audi ME7 ECU Flasher" is disabling it while connecting.

Interesting theory. Wish we had source code for both to fix the logger, if true.


Title: Re: Can't connect when ignition is on
Post by: dal on March 14, 2019, 06:29:28 AM
Split topic.

Known issue.

some clusters interfere with logging.

Run a separate kline to the ecu when logging or log with cluster unplugged.

This will maintain vfzg working on the ECU?
Because in my car I have to pull out the cluster fuse to use ME7logger. Consequence of this, the ECU dont receive vehicle speed anymore (goes from cluster do ECU). And I cant use antilag or NLS safely.

I have an A3 narrowband ME7.5 converted to wideband (032S to 032LP). I use an 032HP file (from GTI MK4), so my ECU can't communicate with the cluster (my A3 and GTI uses differents protocols).


Title: Re: Can't connect when ignition is on
Post by: Blazius on March 14, 2019, 09:02:46 AM
This will maintain vfzg working on the ECU?
Because in my car I have to pull out the cluster fuse to use ME7logger. Consequence of this, the ECU dont receive vehicle speed anymore (goes from cluster do ECU). And I cant use antilag or NLS safely.

I have an A3 narrowband ME7.5 converted to wideband (032S to 032LP). I use an 032HP file (from GTI MK4), so my ECU can't communicate with the cluster (my A3 and GTI uses differents protocols).

set connection mode to 0x00 and set samples/ second to 50 ... then the line clears up and u dont need to pull fuse.


Title: Re: Can't connect when ignition is on
Post by: nyet on March 14, 2019, 09:30:41 AM
set connection mode to 0x00 and set samples/ second to 50 ... then the line clears up and u dont need to pull fuse.

Might work, but note that some ecus don't like connection mode 0x00 either.



Title: Re: Can't connect when ignition is on
Post by: Blazius on March 14, 2019, 10:03:04 AM
Might work, but note that some ecus don't like connection mode 0x00 either.



well it depends on the protocol, 0x00 should be the proper 5 baud init & handshake for KWP1281 which is what me7.5 uses , thats how I got the CH chip working too.


Title: Re: Can't connect when ignition is on
Post by: dal on March 14, 2019, 10:20:58 AM
set connection mode to 0x00 and set samples/ second to 50 ... then the line clears up and u dont need to pull fuse.

I will try this later. Hope it works. I will give an feedback.
Thanks!


Title: Re: Can't connect when ignition is on
Post by: dal on March 14, 2019, 04:13:22 PM

I just want to share my observations and experience how I manage ME7looger to get to work.

Somewhere in the forum I have read that connecting the "NefMoto VW Audi ME7 ECU Flasher", disconnecting it and than connecting the ME7logger should work.
it was explained that some IMMOS are blocking the connection and "NefMoto VW Audi ME7 ECU Flasher" is disabling it while connecting.

I have tried as described and it worked.



Just tested this method and worked with me. \o/. I'm happy.

set connection mode to 0x00 and set samples/ second to 50 ... then the line clears up and u dont need to pull fuse.

I'll try this method on weekend, because I'm using visualme7logger, and the GUI dont let me use 0x00 connection mode. Even if I hard change this on .ecu file, it changes on GUI.
On weekend I will try the command line me7logger.