Pages: [1]
Author Topic: About a month new!  (Read 5626 times)
P4Au

« on: April 07, 2013, 07:19:53 AM »

I join this forum about a month ago and learned a lot. (thanks)

My name is Patrick. I am studying electronics engineering and previously done computer programming in C, C++/Aka (Microsoft Foundation Class...MFC), Some assembly language (not real mode), and Java.

I also do all work on my personal cars. (From changing clutch to rebuilding engines)

Because of my background in electronics, fuel injection is all I know. While I know how diesel engines and its almost pure mechanical aspect work, I know nothing about carburetor fuel delivery cars. (don't care to know either)

I am not here to learn how to tune cars...I will leave that to the guys that have the time, skills, and patience to deal with that subject.  As we all know, flashing is not tuning... Even thou if told what parameters to adjust and by how much, its still an experiment issue with the possibility of a few things that can go wrong, either immediately or overtime.

Both of my cars are chipped by the way so I am not conservative there.

ONE:

What I am interested in is the memory map layout of the bin files. From what I understand it all depends on what model of AMD EPROM chip the ECU or cluster contain. What location can I find certain data (eg. VIN, SKC, Mileage, Engine Code, etc.) The thought process is to create a software, (NOT simple command line, but Windows or Android versions that will read in bin files and display info...of major interest is the SKC. As read here in the forum, the SkC is coded in hexadecimal (as is everything else in a hex editor) but need to be rotated then add a zero before it. (Thanks DDillenger)  Things like this is easy as ABC in programming and one can take advantage of this fact to present the data to the user in a structured or intended English-like form.