Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5
Author Topic: audi a8 4.2 bfm ME7.1.1 custom mapping  (Read 41174 times)
cookie44

« on: August 11, 2016, 04:38:51 PM »

hi all, im relatively new to the whole custom mapping so please bear with!

i have an audi a8 2003 4.2 with an ME7.1.1 ecu 4e0.
i cant get the map off of my car yet, but i have a copy of one from the same vehicle to tinker with.

the software that i have is the nefmoto flasher, tunerpro, winols and an ecu grapher and some checksum corrector. ive also done a lot of reading in the s4 forums as they have the same ecu and read the s4 tuning wiki.

my problem is, is that ive run my audi.ori in winols and it states that there are 89 potential maps. great!... what do i do now!? i may also note that i do not have a damos file, xdf or a2l for the ecu. does anyone have any of these? once i do, what do i do after? how do i link the xdf / damos file to the map? basically, what can i expect?

thanks for any help

C
k0mpresd

« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2016, 04:53:20 PM »

89 maps out of probably around 5k. its a start!
nubcake

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2016, 04:55:40 PM »

basically, what can i expect?

Unfortunately, not much.
There's very little (if anything) to be gained by tuning NA car. Sad

As far as damos/xdf files - you can start by opening a known documented binary, then try to find patterns and find similar maps in your bin.
cookie44

« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2016, 05:02:58 PM »

ha thanks guys, i know there isnt much to gain from the engine, but my main outcome was fuel efficiency.

im not really sure where i would find a documented bin file and how would i know if it was well documented?

C
nyet
Administrator

« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2016, 06:07:09 PM »

ha thanks guys, i know there isnt much to gain from the engine, but my main outcome was fuel efficiency.

that isn't happening either. why would audi leave any MPG on the table?

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x