Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: Boost drop MED9.1 MK5 GTI  (Read 1414 times)
mahjohng
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« on: January 09, 2017, 08:45:23 AM »

Hi,

Been following this forum for over a year now and would like to thank you all for sharing so much useful info. Also i am completely new in this stuff so please be patient with me. Cheesy

Recently i went for a remap Stage 2 (SEDOX tuner). It was flashed via OBD. I noticed the sudden drop in boost in 4th, 5th and 6th gear on WOT reaching around 5.5-6k rpm. This does not happen in 1st-2nd-3rd gear. I have VCDS log of 4th gear pull and hexdump of the ECU.

Another thing, i have learned how to align map packs on stock ECU files but i am having problems doing this on my tuned ECU. Is it something i am missing. Are the both maps (stock and stage2) currently on my ECU?

My car is 2006. MK5 GTI 2.0TFSI BWA MED9.1



Many thanks!
« Last Edit: January 09, 2017, 08:50:48 AM by mahjohng » Logged
gman86
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +13/-42
Offline Offline

Posts: 385


« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2017, 08:58:00 AM »

It drops requested load thus the boost drop. Could be knock or component protection. Log 001, 003, 020 and 032.
Logged
mahjohng
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2017, 02:15:41 PM »

What parameters exactly do i need to log? Via vcds right?
Logged
gman86
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +13/-42
Offline Offline

Posts: 385


« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2017, 01:16:51 AM »

What parameters exactly do i need to log? Via vcds right?

In VCDS yes. Ensure you use turbo mode. The block numbers you need to log are in my previous reply
Logged
mahjohng
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2017, 11:44:21 AM »

Here is my log. At the end of the log there are few 4th gear pulls. I noticed the correction at around 5k rpm. Why is it happening?
Logged
gman86
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +13/-42
Offline Offline

Posts: 385


« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2017, 12:04:56 PM »

You're running out of fuel between 5 and 6k where the ECU pulls load to save itself.

Can you log 001, 031 and 230? I suspect your rail pressure is dropping off. It could be the tune is asking for too much pressure and the rail valve is cracking, or it's not asking for enough.
Logged
mahjohng
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2017, 01:44:46 PM »

Here it is. Fuel pressure seems fine to me... :/
Logged
prj
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +201/-81
Offline Offline

Posts: 2837


« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2017, 04:11:02 PM »

The tune is bad is your answer.
Either start from scratch or buy a proper tune.

I know exactly what is happening, and this happens when people just bash % in WinOLS without testing the car afterwards...
Also "Stage 2" is pretty much a joke. The WGDC should be 95% flat after 5k on a proper tune. The actuator is soft on this turbo.
Logged
gman86
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +13/-42
Offline Offline

Posts: 385


« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2017, 04:57:12 AM »

Here it is. Fuel pressure seems fine to me... :/

"Seems" fine in that it's meeting requested, however, 110bar isn't anywhere near enough to run 0.8. Prj is right, the tune is the problem.

If you have BDM you can read and fix yourself, or buy one that works properly.
Logged
mahjohng
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2017, 02:52:00 PM »

I dont have BDM but i can get one and try. I have MPPS, can i try something with that?
Logged
gman86
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +13/-42
Offline Offline

Posts: 385


« Reply #10 on: January 27, 2017, 03:14:15 AM »

I dont have BDM but i can get one and try. I have MPPS, can i try something with that?

You can try, but chances are it'll be NOREAD'd or worse, it'll drop your car to stock load levels if you try and read. I say worse, that file is pretty dangerous as it is.
Logged
mahjohng
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #11 on: January 27, 2017, 04:24:14 AM »

Well, the file in the first post was the one i actually read by mpps and it did not trigger NOREAD or went to stock load levels. So it means the file is not protected? Im beginning to suspect if i have a genuine file at all...
Logged
gman86
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +13/-42
Offline Offline

Posts: 385


« Reply #12 on: January 27, 2017, 05:33:52 AM »

Well, the file in the first post was the one i actually read by mpps and it did not trigger NOREAD or went to stock load levels. So it means the file is not protected? Im beginning to suspect if i have a genuine file at all...

If it's read OK then you can give it a whirl writing it back on after bumping rail pressure up. MED9 is quite good and hard to brick.
Logged
prj
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +201/-81
Offline Offline

Posts: 2837


« Reply #13 on: January 27, 2017, 02:43:33 PM »

The 110 bar pressure is not the issue here...
Logged
mahjohng
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 12


« Reply #14 on: January 27, 2017, 05:09:20 PM »

What could be the issue? I'm not an expert, so making a map from scratch would probably be the best but too much for me...
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.02 seconds with 18 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.001s, 0q)