Pages: [1]
Author Topic: New guy, where do I start?  (Read 3105 times)
eMTea

« on: March 21, 2017, 03:43:20 AM »

Hi!

I'm new to nefmoto, but not new to tuning cars (I have a 1.8tq AEB with Megasquirt MS3X and Holset turbo).

I also have an A4 1.8TQ 2000, with APU motor (ECU 4B0 906 018 (no prefix)), as a daily driver. Is this car compatible with nefmoto software?

The thing is:
The car is already tuned (by unknown source) and I feel something is not right.
Car runs ok, but fuel consumption is terrible both measured by the cluster and also by refill/km. Normal day driving is approx 2.1L/10km. I can smell it is pig rich at idle.

The first thing I want to do, is take a good log file, ad check if the MAF is reading correct.

After that, I'd really like to test an original tune file, if that is possible.

BR, Magnar from Norway.
dokalanyi

« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2017, 03:55:24 AM »

Hi!

I'm new to nefmoto, but not new to tuning cars (I have a 1.8tq AEB with Megasquirt MS3X and Holset turbo).

I also have an A4 1.8TQ 2000, with APU motor (ECU 4B0 906 018 (no prefix)), as a daily driver. Is this car compatible with nefmoto software?

The thing is:
The car is already tuned (by unknown source) and I feel something is not right.
Car runs ok, but fuel consumption is terrible both measured by the cluster and also by refill/km. Normal day driving is approx 2.1L/10km. I can smell it is pig rich at idle.

The first thing I want to do, is take a good log file, ad check if the MAF is reading correct.

After that, I'd really like to test an original tune file, if that is possible.

BR, Magnar from Norway.

The AEB and Megasquirt isn't compatible with Nefmoto.

The APU however is. To tune the APU's fuel, you need to convert it to a wideband. The stock APU is a narrowband ECU aka has a narrow band sensor.

Your fuel consumption is likely caused by hardware issues, not the tune.