Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Datsun 240z M120 V12 with two Audi 3.0L ecus  (Read 2338 times)
mdccode5150
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« on: March 24, 2017, 06:30:58 PM »

My Project is a 1973 Datsun 240z I installed a Mercedes M120 V12

I am planning on running two Audi 3.0L ecu's (8E0909559L), ABS from 2004 Audi,  a transmission control from a AMG S600 w/  5G automatic w/manual mode (paddle shift). I need to have the Audi compatible ECU, and ABS communicate with the Mercedes TCU. These trannies are picky and can go into limp mode if everything isn't just right. I would also like some help turning off un-necessary OEM/Smog stuff (I will do searches, but it would be nice if someone has info. that I don't have to sift through all the BS).

I have the bin, ols and A2L files.  I think most manufacturers have standard PID's that are needed.

I will load up some pictures as soon as I can.
Logged
turbojohan
Full Member
***

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 164


« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2017, 03:05:50 AM »

sounds like an ambitious project.
I would use stock ecu that comes with that motor to get it running right.
And if that's not possible use a standalone.
2 audi ecu's won't work good without connection between ecu's..

i would throw in a manual gearbox and standalone ecu('s)
Logged
daniel2345
Full Member
***

Karma: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 101


« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2017, 08:06:31 AM »

Why not use the Daimler M2.7.2 ECU for the old V12 Biturbo?

Fits TCU and ABS/ESP System...
Logged
nubcake
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +32/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 350


« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2017, 10:44:39 AM »

I would also like some help turning off un-necessary OEM/Smog stuff (I will do searches, but it would be nice if someone has info. that I don't have to sift through all the BS).

If you need help with this, do not even think about running dual stock V6 (!) ECU setup.
If anything, it will be easier to adapt W12 setup to this, but even then it's a totally mindblowing amount of work.
Logged
vwaudiguy
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +41/-35
Offline Offline

Posts: 1740



« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2017, 03:08:16 PM »

If you need help with this, do not even think about running dual stock V6 (!) ECU setup.
If anything, it will be easier to adapt W12 setup to this, but even then it's a totally mindblowing amount of work.

This is good advice.
Logged

"If you have a chinese turbo, that you are worried is going to blow up when you floor it, then LOL."
mdccode5150
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2017, 10:46:55 PM »

Thanks for the reply's

I have a 2001 V12 ECU but it has the feature to turn off 6 cyl's mechanically, and electronically. I am re-thinking on the dual ecu's., the sock 1992 600SEC stock had two ECU's and used early Bosch CAN, and I am not sure there is enough information about tuning them out there. I will check to see if any other MB S600 have a single ECU that would work with the 5 speed Autostick.

I know that that Ferrari used (2) Bosch ecu's master slave.

I might go old school (1999) Mitsubishi 3000gt ECU's that don't use CAN, and put a T56 Magnum (which I have). Just throwing out some idea's.
Logged
mdccode5150
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2017, 11:27:19 PM »

Just did some reading and thanks to daniel2345 's advice I found that Mercedes ditched the deactivation of 6 cyl.'s. So I will keep a look out for an ecu.  Grin
Logged
mdccode5150
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2017, 11:28:15 PM »

Why not use the Daimler M2.7.2 ECU for the old V12 Biturbo?

Fits TCU and ABS/ESP System...

Thanks just the ticket!
Logged
mdccode5150
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2017, 10:23:30 AM »

This is good advice.

I thought about the W12 ecu as an option, I think for now I will go with daniel2345's suggestion:

"Why not use the Daimler M2.7.2 ECU for the old V12 Biturbo? "

That would fit the harness, TCU and ABS. But I do have some questions that you might know. The M120 has (2) Crank sensors one for each bank, and (2) more on the front for ignition modules for a total of (4). It has double everything that are separate (throttle bodies, sensors, intakes). The only problem I can see with the original thought would be idle control (RPM) because that would be the common thing that both ecu's share. They would probably have to be disconnected to keep them from fighting each other.

The other thing is these Audi 3.0L ecu's have waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay to many maps, being torque based, and all the smog and safety stuff and that would be a totally mindblowing amount of work. Everything seems to rely on other things...I guess there would need to be a sequence to the tuning process so that you don't screw up all the other adjustments.

Just for information!
Logged
mdccode5150
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2017, 10:27:25 AM »

I meant to quote:  Grin by: nubcake

"If you need help with this, do not even think about running dual stock V6 (!) ECU setup.
If anything, it will be easier to adapt W12 setup to this, but even then it's a totally mindblowing amount of work."
Logged
Carsinc
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +10/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 373


« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2017, 06:06:29 AM »

Ok first I love this type of thing, second I want to throw in my suggestion, use standalone for this.
I would use something like megasquirt cause I'm cheap, but i would guess you will have much more luck
with stand alone and a stick

Logged
mdccode5150
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #11 on: November 01, 2017, 12:27:35 AM »

I have been studying the Bosch ECU's, EEPROM, A2L, Function Doc's etc., and the different tools. It's kind of making sense now. Until I have time to experiment with ECU's, and tuning (I have an Audi A4, and an extra ECU) I parted out a 1997 CL600 with more modern electronics, which I will be installing soon. Here are the pictures I said that I would post. I am new to Google Drive so if it doesn't work let me know!

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJSmRGY0ZGcTk4SXM
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJMGRfSjlrR3U1dXc
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJeTdibHhicjc2S28
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJYUNkU1Zzek1KWjA
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJczFkODdIYmRSa3c
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJV2huNS1QQnJSajA
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJdzMxeUl3aHc3Wlk
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJTmNianV6ajNIT0E
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJUjZpY0MyTll6N3M
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJYXd3SlBVaUpKYU0
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJblNRQmlZZlJOY2c
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJbFA4OUhHZkxpOG8
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJRWxKbzJ0NUVHcDg
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJRndXS1dEWUxfOVk
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJT2wwYjZHMFk5S1E
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJSFYzTFdvSVUwMUk
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJNEF4bmJTMjRCeGs
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJWWVUd2dWa25RQ1E
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJUDZ3ZmZuc3JScTg
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJODdKeUtOenVrNzQ
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJaVVoelFnZTA0UW8
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJNTd6OHhFWUVqODQ

TMI I know but there it is.

Logged
mdccode5150
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #12 on: November 01, 2017, 12:31:16 AM »

Here's the whole file, much easier.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2rGqmOf1vWJU2pfbXRLTmxJaXc
Logged
vwaudiguy
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +41/-35
Offline Offline

Posts: 1740



« Reply #13 on: November 01, 2017, 10:59:22 AM »

My first car was a 71 240Z. I have an extremely soft spot for this car. If you ever have any specific questions concerning your build, feel free to pm. Best of luck with your project!
Logged

"If you have a chinese turbo, that you are worried is going to blow up when you floor it, then LOL."
mdccode5150
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


« Reply #14 on: November 02, 2017, 08:27:42 PM »

Thanks for the offer I will take you up on that, I am getting ready to freshen up the gaskets, and seals on the v12. On the computer front I am trying to figure out the EEPROM's, A2L's, and the Function Docs now. I can read the EEPROM's on the early ME7's, but not the ME7.5's (fails to load the loader + Monitor Core), and will be trying the ME7.1.1's tonight. Until I am comfortable with the results of my tinkering, I will be using the stock ecu's. I also picked up a M137 v12 which can run 6 or 12 cyl.s flawlessly.

Thanks again vwaudiguy.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.022 seconds with 17 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)