Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: 2003 MK4 GTI 1.8t Unable to read ECU  (Read 17907 times)
Slikk

« on: November 10, 2017, 07:57:16 PM »

First of all thanks for the great software. I'm a bit new to all this, just discovered it last night, and haven't been able to get it to work with my car.

I am able to communicate and get ECU info using a blue ebay cable (FTDI), and enter programming mode and exit it again (ignition on/off). However when I try to use the Read ECU function to dump the maps, it fails with the infamous "RequestUpload may have been disabled by aftermarket engine software". But my car has no tune that I am aware of (bought it second hand), and I confirmed that fact today by logging the boost pressure, never went higher than 10.8 psi.

I also tried the me7eeprom.exe (1.40) program, and it fails to communicate with the ECU entirely.

According to VCDS my ECU is 06A906032LP (which is in the supported list), and I made sure to select the appropriate memory layout in NefMoto.

Any ideas? Am I not able to read this ECU via OBDII?
nyet
Administrator

« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2017, 08:42:57 PM »

"RequestUpload may have been disabled by aftermarket engine software". But my car has no tune that I am aware of (bought it second hand), and I confirmed that fact today by logging the boost pressure, never went higher than 10.8 psi

That does not mean it is stock. Could easily be switchable maps or something else.

Open the ecu and make sure it doensn't have a riser. And if it doesn't, you can flash a stock file using bootmode.

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
Slikk

« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2017, 09:26:58 PM »