Pages: [1]
Author Topic: noob here - need to know if i'm the right place?  (Read 3022 times)
hummel

« on: April 03, 2018, 01:47:34 PM »

Hey Gents,

A brand new noob have arrive. I really want to understand more about the ECU, specially the ME7, because I believe that's the one i have with my R32 engine.

Just to get started i downloaded the Nefmoto ECU flasher, and first job for me is to bench flash my ECU, when i get a prober DC supply and the rest of my wiring.

I read the S4 Wiki and freaked out a bit  Shocked Thats alot to handle at my first day at school  Smiley And now i have some questions for you guys... Probadly stupied.

Facts:

R32 BUB Engine with all stock engine harness and sensors.
Golf mk1 car, no ABS, no Cat, no CAN-BUS, nu steering colum unit, no airbag, no IMMB, no nothing.

I want to know if I can make my R32 run without all these thing to communicate with, is it "just" a flash of the ECU and a rewrite of the map (I know it not "just" but trying to understand it) or does it need a CAN connection from something to function?

I believe the engine can run without following stuff as well:

SAI
EVAP
Exhaust flap
Clutch positioning
Brake positioning
Rear O2 sensor (Since no cat)

these things will also have to be deleted in the map.

I know is a big job to learn to do this, but I have alot of spare time and I believe I can use this knowledge, so i want to learn it. But if it is impossible to get it to work with the ME7, I will not try.

Can anyone tell me if i'm all wrong?

/Tommy

nyet
Administrator

« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2018, 01:51:26 PM »

You don't need can but you do need an OBD-II connector with the k-line connected to the ECU

Not sure what you mean by "a rewrite of the map".

There are literally thousands of maps.

Incidentally, it is unlikely you'll get much gains from a N/A motor.

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x