Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Someones Bad Tune - Need MAF Scale Confirmation  (Read 3171 times)
mikeak2001

« on: April 16, 2018, 07:18:29 AM »

Hi everyone.

I'm hoping someone can help me. I'm not new to tuning however I am new to scaling a MAF. I know there are many questions about this but please let me explain.

I normally tune Volvo's, early Volvo's using the Motronic 4.4 system. A friend of a friend has had a tune dropped on to his Vauxhall Zafira Z20LET with Motronic 1.5.5 which the tuner swears is tuned for an 80mm MAF over the stock 70mm. I find this not the case due to constant positive fuel trims when the 80mm is installed followed by a DTC and limp mode.

I have also confirmed this by reading the MLHFM MAP which is the same as a stock file.

After never scaling a MAF before I made a quick excel sheet to do the job taking into consideration MLOFS of 200.
I could have sworn recently that I read an article, maybe on this forum regarding negative numbers in the map and something needs to be done. Besides the usual subtract MLOFS, scale, then add on MLOFS again.

My main question is just that:
Does anything need to be done to the negative numbers once MLOFS has been subtracted?
My other question:
How does the ecu interpret the negative number once it subtracts MLOFS. I can understand for example 212kg/h - MLOFS = 12kg/s but how would it interpret lower figures such as 160kg/h - MLOFS = -40 kg/h ? or would the ecu just ignore these lower figures?

I have attached a copy of the excel file I put together, The file also has line charts to show the differences. Within the file I have already input the MLFHM from the ecu.

Thanks in advance.

Mike

thedrill

« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2018, 08:20:20 AM »

I had a quick look at the scaling, the multiplier between 70mm and 80mm is approx 1.14
your max stock kg is 966, after removing and adding the offset I get 1073kg max.
That should be a good starting point.

nyet
Administrator