Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]
Author Topic: Boot mode not possible on ME7.5 (Infineon CPU)?  (Read 38796 times)
overclockedpc
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 57


« Reply #75 on: August 28, 2015, 12:14:36 AM »

Just confirmed that the above photo method does work. A 10k resistor shorting the two pins of the flash chip will enable boot mode. The resistor must stay in place during the entire process.

The easiest way is to probably wire a switch and a 10k resistor and solder it in place for future use.
Logged
turtlemann14
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 10



« Reply #76 on: January 04, 2019, 03:32:40 PM »

can someone explain to me why we use pin 24(QD4 listed as a input/output) and 32(ground) with a resistor on that chip to boot mode it rather than the 44(RESET#) pin

data sheet for AM29F800BB-70SI
https://html.alldatasheet.com/html-pdf/55524/AMD/AM29F800BB-70SI/290/5/AM29F800BB-70SI.html

page 5 has pinout
page 8 has information on reset.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2019, 04:01:17 PM by turtlemann14 » Logged

2002 a4 b6 AMB 1.8t quattro
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +429/-53
Online Online

Posts: 9712


WWW
« Reply #77 on: January 04, 2019, 04:07:06 PM »

can someone explain to me why we use pin 24(QD4 listed as a input/output) and 32(ground) with a resistor on that chip to boot mode it rather than the 44(RESET#) pin

data sheet for AM29F800BB-70SI
https://html.alldatasheet.com/html-pdf/55524/AMD/AM29F800BB-70SI/290/5/AM29F800BB-70SI.html

page 5 has pinout
page 8 has information on reset.


Resetting the flash chip has nothing to do with bootmode.
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
speed69
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #78 on: May 31, 2019, 08:40:27 AM »

I've bricked my ECU while doing differencial download and thanks god I achieved bring it back online, I managed to solder a switch and left it outside the ECU case. I've done the proper insulation to avoid humidity.

My question is, while engine running if accidentaly the key switch toggle to bootmode, is possible to turn off ECU and stop the car and maybe cause an accident?
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +429/-53
Online Online

Posts: 9712


WWW
« Reply #79 on: May 31, 2019, 09:38:29 AM »

Yes, it is possible the ECU will crash and reboot.

The engine may stop.
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.016 seconds with 16 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)