Pages: [1]
Author Topic: ECUx users  (Read 7424 times)
Rick
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +62/-3
Offline Offline

Posts: 704


« on: March 15, 2011, 10:12:27 AM »

Finally got my ECUx running after much license stress.

What cable are and settings are people using?

I have a blue China USB cable.  Works really well with Nefmoto and VAG COM.

I can connect no problem with ECUx, but it stops logging/stutters after a few minutes.  Also as soon as i start logging, it's not real time - maybe lags by about 10s or so.   So far I've made sure Laptop isn't sleeping, tried standard and accurate connection settings.

The China USB cables aren't true USB are they?  As in aren't they just USB to serial cables?  I'm using the virtual com port Windows assigns to connect with, not tried the USB setting.

Rick
Logged
carlossus
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +38/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 394

Leon Curpa Stg1+


« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2011, 10:25:22 AM »

If you're using the usb - serial driver directly then you can try adjusting the settings in the driver>advanced tab. It might do nothing, but an easy win if it works.

http://www.nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?topic=409.0
Logged
Matt Danger
Full Member
***

Karma: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 116


« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2011, 11:04:05 AM »

I use the blue China cable with ECUx. Under XP SP3 I didn't notice much lag. There was some, but not terrible. It would never stutter or disconnect.

I've switched to running XP under a VM in Windows 7 and have noticed the lag increase dramatically along with some disconnects. I haven't messed with any settings yet, though.
Logged
Rick
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +62/-3
Offline Offline

Posts: 704


« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2011, 11:18:19 AM »

I'm running under Windows 7, no VM - why did you run under VM?

Rick
Logged
RaraK
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +57/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 536


« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2011, 02:30:48 PM »

I'm running under Windows 7, no VM - why did you run under VM?

Rick

no issues here in vmware with XP sp3 under win7 64 bit
Logged
phila_dot
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +160/-11
Offline Offline

Posts: 1705


« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2011, 02:54:22 PM »

I'm running under Windows 7, no VM - why did you run under VM?

Rick

For backwards compatability with XP, Microsoft created XP mode for Windows 7.  If you have Windows 7 home premium or higher, you can download Microsoft Virtual PC and XP mode for free to run programs designed to operate in XP.
Logged
Matt Danger
Full Member
***

Karma: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 116


« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2011, 03:13:46 PM »

Yeah, I'm using XP mode under Virtual PC. I tried running ECUx natively but experienced problems similar to those in the OP.

Edit: I should have been more clear when I first replied but I was unsure of your OS. I believe your problem is related to running ECUx under Win7 natively. Try using XP Mode, if you have the option. It works fine for me (mostly)
« Last Edit: March 15, 2011, 03:17:48 PM by Matt Danger » Logged
ArgDub
Full Member
***

Karma: +58/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 202


« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2011, 04:48:02 PM »

There is a workaround to install XP mode in home editions

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/windows-xp-mode-windows-7-win7,10213.html
« Last Edit: November 18, 2011, 07:39:51 AM by ArgDub » Logged
Rick
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +62/-3
Offline Offline

Posts: 704


« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2011, 04:18:29 AM »

Well I goit working pretty well, under Win 7 with no VM.

Blue China cable, standard connection method. USB, 14400.  Not dropped any data whilst simultaneously logging boost, rpm and Wideband from my Zeitronix.

Rick
Logged
Matt Danger
Full Member
***

Karma: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 116


« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2011, 07:59:04 AM »

Interesting, I'll have to give it a try with 14400.
Logged
RaraK
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +57/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 536


« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2011, 07:46:59 AM »

Installing in a VM is a bit smarter, as it is then "transportable" Wink  so if you get a new pc, copy your VM to it so you can use it and not have to worry about licensing.  This method goes for a LOT of software out there
Logged
Matt Danger
Full Member
***

Karma: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 116


« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2011, 10:21:11 AM »

You can change the Volume ID of system drive to match your registration file if you ever need to reinstall on a new machine.
Logged
julex
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +77/-4
Offline Offline

Posts: 923


« Reply #12 on: March 19, 2011, 08:05:32 AM »

You can change the Volume ID of system drive to match your registration file if you ever need to reinstall on a new machine.

Having said that, it also allows to share VMs... Any chance getting the VM from any of you?
Logged
zillarob
Full Member
***

Karma: +13/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 152


« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2011, 01:51:33 AM »

FWIW, these are the settings I use. I usually see about 1sec of lag.



XP SP3, Blue China 409 cable 232rl chip, FTDI 2.8.2.0 driver

Spent hours trying different ports/speeds, didn't like faster than the 57.6 or UART.
Still baffled why it doesn't use the v-ports like everything else.


EDIT:   This is with my netbook. When I get a chance I'll see what win7 x64 will do.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2011, 01:59:20 AM by zillarob » Logged
zillarob
Full Member
***

Karma: +13/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 152


« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2011, 09:44:49 PM »

Not sure if this would help lag here but looked interesting.

http://www-stud.uni-due.de/~sgchhaus/vagcomen.php

Found on a subaru forum, lol
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.023 seconds with 18 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)