Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Educate me :-) map finding/understanding - which software to use  (Read 3500 times)
peterlundorf

Hi - I need your help and wisdom

I am an educated mech. engineer - combustion engines, emissions, turbo/supercharging etc. So my basic knowledge and understanding of how an engine works is quite good - I dare to say.
BUT - I am a noob regarding ECU's, software and all that electrical stuff that manages the engine.

I have a Peugeot 406 V6 2004 Bosch ME7.4.6.

I have managed to read the BIN-file via MPPS cable and boot mode and a demoversion of Winols.

In Winols I have located some maps that I think are related to ignition, fueling and VVT - which are my initial targets.
Since it is a demoversion I cannot save the changed BIN-file so.....

- What software to use for changing maps on a ME7.4.6 ECU? Winols in cracked version (oh no.... not legal of course :-(
- Any general way to learn to "look" at the hexdump and see maps?

I truly apprecialte any help - thoughts - wisdom - tutorials etc. on the ME7.4.6 :-) 

Best regards - Peter - Denmark - ICE-enthusiast :-)
Blazius

« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2020, 02:47:17 PM »

You can use the demo version to find the maps and then define them in Tunerpro , which allows you to save bins, you gonna have to do checksums by a third party program or buy MTX plugin for TunerPro.

I usually look at maps in 2d view looking for their shape, once you get used to it you will be able to spot them.
peterlundorf

« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2020, 03:52:29 AM »

Thanks!

I had the same thought concerning using Winols demo first to recognize the maps (it appears to be rather good at that :-)) and then use another program to actually change, save and write the BIN-file to the ecu via my MPPS cable.

However I tried to download and use TunerPro - but absolutely nothing happens when I try to open a BIN-file. I have also purchased the TunerProRT software (also to support the "owner") with same result. Any ideas?