Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Tuning noob questions  (Read 2777 times)
Jonb91101

« on: August 08, 2020, 12:44:51 PM »

I am new to all of this and have dug into the me7.1.1 platform. I'm in the states and have a 2.5L VW Jetta. I bought a ktag box/cable and have already accomplished getting into boot mode and extracting the 3 files. So I feel like I've done pretty good. I have extensive automotive electronic background +solder skills, but don't know what I'm doing when it comes to tuning...

My main question is, if I buy a used ecu that is already tuned by a pretty big tuning company:

A. If I try to immo defeat the already tuned ECU are there any chances I can screw something up. Also I'm curious if I send it off somewhere could THEY screw it up.

B. I have an automatic and the ECU is for manual. Can I copy the map file to my ecu and it just work?

C. What's stopping someone from taking and tuned ecu and putting it into boot mode and copying the tune for a friend or whoever/making a backup of the ECU for yourself? Are there security measures setup to stop people from doing that?

Thanks for the help. I appreciate any feedback.
nyet
Administrator

« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2020, 01:33:36 PM »

A. If I try to immo defeat the already tuned ECU are there any chances I can screw something up. Also I'm curious if I send it off somewhere could THEY screw it up.

Always a chance, but doubtful, as long as you have a backup of your eeprom and flash and known good boot mode setup

B. I have an automatic and the ECU is for manual. Can I copy the map file to my ecu and it just work?

Generally yes, but the EEPROM will need recoding (engine recode)

C. What's stopping someone from taking and tuned ecu and putting it into boot mode and copying the tune for a friend or whoever/making a backup of the ECU for yourself? Are there security measures setup to stop people from doing that?

Nothing, even if there is a riser.