Pages: [1]
Author Topic: editing ME7.5 soft coding  (Read 4587 times)
volts

« on: February 17, 2021, 11:04:56 AM »

Hi,

does anyone know how could I edit the ecu soft coding (me7.5 - 2000 a4 1.8tq)?

I had an immo off mod done and since then the ECU has been throwing me a failed TCU communication code, EPC stopped working and the clutch pedal switch doesn't register.
My guess is the car is coded as an automatic, looking at the soft coding in VCDS, it's "16581" - which by some chart, should be a north american, FWD, multitronic car.
But my car is an EU, quattro, 5spd...

VCDS won't accept my new coding...

Any info on how to solve this is greatly appreciated,
sorry for my lack of knowledge, I'm still learning Smiley
« Last Edit: February 22, 2021, 02:53:16 AM by volts » Logged
grayjay

« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2021, 11:42:20 AM »

Soft coding is stored on the EEPROM. Use boot mode to download the EEPROM .bin file and then you can use tunerpro to edit the soft coding, prior knowledge of the SKC is not needed to change the EEPROM file. Other useful stuff you can do in the EEPROM includes reading the SKC (so you can clone original ECU SKC to another ECU), turn off immobilizer, change the VIN to match car if you have a replacement ECU.   
Be sure to reset the check sums after making any changes to the EEPROM file then you can boot mode flash the updated file back to the ECU. Really helps to have a bench harness (made form old spare ECU harness) to do the boot mode flashing since you need to open the case of the ECU. 
dal

« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2021, 04:37:06 PM »

I made my own harness with a power switch.
But there are options ready to use on aliexpress for example.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1586346900.html

Audi A3 8L
1984cc stroker - E100 - ME7 wideband converted - 400whp target
Instagram: @a3stroker
stuydub

« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2021, 06:12:19 AM »