Pages: [1]
Author Topic: ME7.5 Pin 24 Boot Mode - Arc'd and now won't identify at all.  (Read 528 times)
borderm3
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« on: September 13, 2021, 01:19:28 PM »

Hi All!

This is my first post.  I am a European repair shop.  I have a 2001 VW 1.8T with an AWD engine. The vehicle came in with a blown engine.  I replaced the engine and attempted to start the replacement.  It cranked but no start.  This has been  a back burner job given the nature of the cluster $%$@#$ it is.  I don't recall if it had spark/fuel or not, regardless....  I scanned the vehicle and it came up with a code that suggested the camshaft adjuster was unplugged;  This particular engine does not have adjustable valve timing.  So that made me scratch my head.  I had done some research to realize they replaced the ECU and I assume wiring harness to use a newer ME7.5 that has a wideband o2 sensor.

Since I had the ECU on the bench and it would not start and they didn't care to disable the CEL for the cam adjuster, I thought maybe it had an IMMO issue.  So I used MPPS to ECU ID, no problems.  Then I tried to read the IMMO EEPROM and when I grounded pin 24 it arc'd.  After which it will not even identify the ECU anymore.

My questions are as follows:
1.) What did I do wrong?
2.) Buying a replacement ecu from lkq.  I cannot find the same 06A 906 032 RN ECU, although I found many that are different last two alpha characters.  I was unable to find any that are 1.8T and MT.  What's easier to deal with a 2.0/2.5 MT or a 1.8 AT?

Thanks all!
Logged
fukenbroken
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +134/-10
Offline Offline

Posts: 1060


mk4 1.8T AUM


« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2021, 03:00:33 PM »

Immo issues indicates with key icon on yhe dash and the engine will start and shutoff after few secs
Pin24 where? There is a tons of pics of the boot pad for 1.8t ecu
As for replacement post the list of available ecus
Logged
borderm3
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2021, 06:12:19 AM »

Hi!  Below is the pin 24 on what I presume is the flash? (See attached?)



Logged
Risky
Full Member
***

Karma: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 102


« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2021, 06:26:23 AM »

Yes you can also access eeprom with the right software.
Logged
R32Dude
Full Member
***

Karma: +20/-5
Online Online

Posts: 84


« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2021, 08:12:04 AM »

It makes  no sense that it shorted to ground, but when you read about the c167, it requires a resistor, about 10k to ground for boot mode, not a wire as most fools use. Depending on the specific board, they sometimes sneak a pull up resistor on that pin, so the 10k is too high a value to work. Nonetheless, a wire is dangerous if you slip up and youve got to remove it quickly as pin 24 is used for data after boot. The 10k resistor can be left connected.  So try 10k, 4.7k or 1k next time, in that order
Logged
Risky
Full Member
***

Karma: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 102


« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2021, 08:14:28 AM »

I use a 1/4 watt 1k ohm resistor. Never had an issue with ME 7.1 / ME 7.5. Easily obtainable on ebay.
Logged
borderm3
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2021, 12:08:36 PM »

Thanks guys!!!!

I will buy one for next time, thanks!  MPPS doesn't tell you to use a resistor.  Sad

I purchased a ECU from LKQ, don't remember which letters as it doesnt show me on the order and I can't go back.  Once it comes I will post how I make out.  I am hoping to remove the immo on the 'new' one and go from there.

Chris
Logged
fukenbroken
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +134/-10
Offline Offline

Posts: 1060


mk4 1.8T AUM


« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2021, 12:23:47 PM »

Ive never used any resistors in those ecus
Logged
Risky
Full Member
***

Karma: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 102


« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2021, 12:32:52 PM »

Ive never used any resistors in those ecus


They're a good safety precaution. I've got a bunch, let me know if you want some  Grin
« Last Edit: September 14, 2021, 12:49:35 PM by Risky » Logged
R32Dude
Full Member
***

Karma: +20/-5
Online Online

Posts: 84


« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2021, 04:21:22 PM »

Earth your body just before touching the pins, static can zap CMOS devices on the board
Logged
borderm3
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2021, 09:11:11 AM »

The ECU just came in from LKQ.

It's a NK

ME7.5 C2-3 0003

The only difference I see there is I think the old EC is 0001.  I can't tell the first two characters because the label is ripped.  Maybe this is just the version of the firmware flash?  I will tear it apart and see if its the same inside once things slow down tonight in the shop.

Chris
Logged
gremlin
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +135/-7
Offline Offline

Posts: 421


« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2021, 06:09:26 AM »

It's a NK
The only difference I see ...

The difference 032NK from 032RN is transmission version.
032NK is for 5 gear MT tranny and 032RN is for 6MT.
Both firmware is cross flashable.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.018 seconds with 17 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)