Pages: [1]
Author Topic: How to disassemble ECU firmware  (Read 3201 times)
dzsec

« on: May 14, 2022, 12:56:33 PM »

Hi all, I'm a noob firmware reverse engineer, i have experience reverse engineering compiled executable formats but im not sure how to properly disassemble firmware.

Biggest questions are: how do you tell the difference between code and data, there's gotta be libraries and imports in the firmware, how do you rebuild those references in something like IDA or GHIDRA?

My first thought was, since i have an ECU to work on was; why not get JTAG and see if gdb via openocd can show that to me during runtime but getting JTAG has been kind of a rabbit hole and im not sure if maybe there's an easier way that i missed.

I did find that with IDA you can kind of highlight sections you think could be code and have it just disassemble those sections but it seems maybe less than trustworthy and also isn't giving me cross references. Plus, in the firmware dump i got; i have an eeprom file and an irom file, the irom is the one i think has code since the entropy graph from binwalk says most of it is at 0.8 and the eeprom is around 0.6 and lower, eeprom is probably maps and such, right? There must be some way to build references to eeprom, since I'm sure the firmware code touches that right?

The architecture i am dealing with is TriCore 1762 and I know there's some dev tools for the architecture.. could those be of use to me? I don't really even know how to compile firmware.

Thanks for helping out a noob in advance!
d3irb

« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2022, 04:21:10 PM »

Read the Tricore documentation and understand the memory map.

Once you know the entry point you can disassemble code and from that xrefs to data will fall out.

There are no imports in a full firmware file since it is all of the code running on the ECU (besides the boot ROM) - there is no dynamic linker and nothing to import!