Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Couple questions about the 2000 audi a4 1.8t  (Read 15003 times)
A4Nick

« on: October 04, 2010, 08:08:47 PM »

Hey all im new to this i have just been reading up about it for about 4 hours haha and im looking into doing this for my 2000 audi a4 1.8t but i guess i just have a couple of main questions,

I just wanted to make sure that all the steps will work the same, i have kwp2000 installed but wanted to know if i can run this with the basic vag cable from ebay?

What exactly does the flashing do? does it simply make it so you can read the ecu and extract the bin files? I want to pull my stock bin files to look them over and analyze everything. I am new to this and im not quite ready to start messing with them but i do have tuner pro downloaded ready to go.

On s4wiki it seems that the xdf file they recommend is strictly for the s4 m7.1, what would i use for my ecu and this is for turning the tunerpro files into actual bin files? correct me if im wrong im still trying to figure this all out.

What exactly are checksums? i know that i need ecux for this or vagcom but thought i would ask what they are.

Thanks for all the info guys this is awesome I was just thinking to myself lasnight that there is no way there isn't away around paying for a tune and then i ran across this haha.
warpedhalo

« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2010, 10:39:36 PM »

***I haven't even flashed anything yet... I'm still researching also, so take my answers (at least they're answers) with caution***

Flashing- yes for reading your .bin, but also to write modified .bins