Pages: [1]
Author Topic: DQ250 Diesel to petrol  (Read 1371 times)
Norwegian1.8T

« on: June 01, 2023, 12:08:50 PM »

Hi,
Im wanting to swap me 1.8T ME7.5 to DSG, because reasons.. Smiley
Since there are practically zero DQ250 4motions from a petrol car for sale here (Yes ive checked everywhere), i'm considering getting one from a diesel. Yes, i am aware of the issues with "taller" gearing etc.
Now the reason i come here for help, i have zero DSG tuning experience, i have done some ME7.5 tuning with success.
Game plan, flash my current ECU with an auto software, so ME7.5 parses the data given from the DSG.
Option 1: Retune the entire DQ250 to suit a petrol engine
Option 2: Reflash the DQ250 to petrol software, and redo the gear ratios, and some fine tuning (Not sure if this is possible)
Option 3: Get an petrol mechatronic and redo the gear ratios and fine tune.

Has anyone done something similiar to this before?

I'm sure im wrong in many ways but im keen to do it so want to hear others thoughts  Grin
prj

« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2023, 02:10:02 PM »

Option 1 out of the question.
Option 3 is pointless, the mechatronic units are the same.

Option 2 is a start, but it's not so simple.
Because the gear ratios are different ALL the shiftmaps must be redone from scratch. Otherwise gearbox will yo-yo like crazy between gears, because the rev drop is much higher than the shiftmaps "expect".
It will shift up and then if the revs go even a little lower immediately shift down again, and repeat and you will be stuck in a shift loop...

Look at the amount of shiftmaps that there are then think if it's worth it or not.
Some of it can be calculated, other stuff you will need to test and dial in when driving.

I've done this once and never again lol.

PM's will not be answered, so don't even try.
Log your car properly.
_nameless

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2023, 04:10:31 PM »

Hi,
Im wanting to swap me 1.8T ME7.5 to DSG, because reasons.. Smiley