Pages: [1]
Author Topic: [B58][MG1] Load Target Oscillating under Partial Throttle at low RPM  (Read 987 times)
psyko

Hi All, somewhat of a novice here so please bear with me...

I have hand-tuned a map from stock reference using the Bootmod3 map editor. I am puzzled by some behavior I am seeing under partial throttle when I am in a low RPM range and high gear (like 4th gear from 2,800 RPM and ~60% throttle). You can see the log here -- https://www.bootmod3.net/log?id=6572106bfcd6f0422ff210bc

Can anyone offer some insight in to why my load target might be oscillating like this?? I have no clue. The car feels amazing under WOT in all gears, but is behaving poorly in partial throttle in this specific case I mentioned, you can really feel the car "surging" and it's not too pleasant. Here is a WOT log to show I'm not totally full of sh*t lmao -- https://www.bootmod3.net/log?id=65720d286862a64331578dfa ; I've found this to be way more performant than any OTS map I have tried.

My engine setup is mostly stock (2020 BMW M340i), I have new spark plugs with a smaller gap, splash of E85 in my Cali 91 tank (2.5-3 gal of E85), and a VRSF catless downpipe.

You can even see here in 5th gear the transition from oscillations to smooth once the pedal is closer to WOT and the RPMS are higher -- https://www.bootmod3.net/log?id=65720fa752baf04fb71abb36

Any help is extremely appreciated! I am pretty new to this and still learning. I would love to solve this problem
James1

« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2023, 08:47:02 AM »

I have seen this before on this car on certain software versions.  I did not investigate it.  The way to do is to use Vehical and log all the inputs to rf_soll to see what is tripping it. 
psyko

« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2023, 09:04:06 AM »

I have seen this before on this car on certain software versions.  I did not investigate it.  The way to do is to use Vehical and log all the inputs to rf_soll to see what is tripping it.