Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Clutch/gearbox noise and knock control at idle...  (Read 11526 times)
Jason

Breaks everything!

« on: February 18, 2011, 07:28:01 PM »

First, am I right in assuming that knock control is active even at idle?  I am having a difficult time tracking down the source of a miss exclusive to cylinder 6.  Plugs look good, great compression, swapped coils 5 and 6, and swapped ignition drivers with no change.  The car is running amazingly well everywhere, so I don't believe I have an injector issue, since they are new, but I plan on switching 5 and 6 when the car cools.  I don't believe it's anything to do with injector latency, as the car was idling perfect the last few weeks and I haven't touched the tune at all.

The miss only occurs at idle, on cylinder 6 (sometimes I see a few events on 3) with the gearbox in neutral and clutch engaged, which is only noticeable because it causes the gearbox/clutch to hiccup (rattle).  I have an unsprung, Clutchmasters FX850 twin plate clutch on its matching aluminum flywheel, which makes a LOT of noise.  The whole combo is less than half the weight of the stock setup with LFWF.  There could be inherent issues with the lack of mass here, but let's overlook that for a moment.

My thought is that at idle, enough noise is being transmitted BACK to the engine, and the knock sensors are picking this up, and then retarding the timing on cylinder 6, which then causes the misfire. 

You see, if I pull on the shifter into any gear, which puts a light load on the gearbox and quiets it, the miss completely stops.

My thought is, if knock control is active even at idle, should it in theory be safe to zero out the first 3 cells of KRFKLN to result in 0 retard under 1600rpm?
zillarob

« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2011, 01:38:09 AM »

I would lean toward injector (hope not wiring or connector) since you have pretty much ruled everything else out.