Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
Author Topic: How to bench flash your B5 S4 ECU  (Read 86810 times)
Matt Danger
Full Member
***

Karma: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 116


« on: March 01, 2011, 08:33:06 PM »

I've been doing some bench flashing to get myself used to the flashing tools and the process in general. Pretty simple, here's how I did it:



What you need:
- ECU
- DC power supply
- Flashing cable (Ebay, Galleto, etc)
- Multimeter
- Small gator clips
- Wire
- Small gauge connectors

Set up your DC power source. I have a $17 Pyramid PS-3KX that does 13.8v. I tried using an ATX (computer) power supply (12v) but it would shutdown after a minute or so of powering the ECU and harness. Not sure if I was overloading the power supply or if it was because the power supply was 10 years old.

The wiring is simple. Power the ECU and power the cable. Then connect one K-line wire between the two.



ECU pins:
Pin 1 -> Ground
Pin 2 -> Ground (can be shared/connected with pin 1)
Pin 3 -> 12v
Pin 43 -> K-line on your ODB cable (Pin 7)
Pin 62 -> 12v

ODBII cable pins (see attached below)
Pin 4 -> Ground
Pin 7 -> K-line on ECU (Pin 43)
Pin 16 -> 12v

ECU pinout reference: http://www.nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?topic=59.0
ODB pinout reference: http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/aftermarket-radio.html NOTE: The ODB pin out on Ross Tech is from the vehicle side.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2011, 10:19:50 AM by Matt Danger » Logged
phila_dot
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +156/-11
Offline Offline

Posts: 1701


« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2011, 10:54:57 PM »

Nice, thank you. I found the thread below to be fairly helpful.

http://www.ecuconnections.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1403&p=11290

You will need to login to view it.
Logged
Nosbeui
Newbie
*

Karma: +13/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 19


« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2011, 03:43:45 PM »

This has been well covered.  I've found an ATX power supply to work well. Don't cheap out on your power supply thats for sure, make sure its very stable.

NOTE: To make a harness that can do all ME7 ECU's (Immobilizer MK4's) Pin 21 on the ECU needs 12v as well.

http://wiki.obdtuning.com/?title=Bild:AudiPorscheSeatSkodaVAGME7.jpg

As from this thread:

http://www.nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?topic=115.15
Logged
Jason
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +36/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 499


Breaks everything!


« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2011, 04:21:00 PM »

I switched to an ATX supply as well...  I also added this:

http://www.amazon.com/picoUPS-120-Uninterruptible-Power-Vehicle-Security/dp/B004CSRXRO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1299104303&sr=8-1

With an SLA battery, which works awesome, in case of power outage when flashing.
Logged
DJGonzo
Guest
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2011, 09:27:48 AM »

Here's the pinouts I use



and



You only need K line on OBD plug.
Logged
julex
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +77/-4
Offline Offline

Posts: 923


« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2011, 07:16:20 AM »

...

Thanks, worked for me like a charm except for the part where I first wired obd2 plug the way your diagram shows only to realize it is a socket diagram not a plug... Since nobody will be looking at socket side of obd2 port when bench flashing, maybe we can "mirror image" the plug diagram so that it looks like the way plug will when you look at it?

For a power supply I used my trustworthy Vector dual-halogen flashing which has two 6v lead batteries (12v total) in it and was designed as an aid in starting cars. It has enough juice to run ECU almost indefinitely and connects directly to wall outlet too while still supplying nice 12v. The output socket is standard lighter 12v.

One of these guys:
http://www.elightspot.com/v3millionrechspotlight.aspx
Logged
Matt Danger
Full Member
***

Karma: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 116


« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2011, 10:13:22 AM »

Quote from: Julex
Thanks, worked for me like a charm except for the part where I first wired obd2 plug the way your diagram shows only to realize it is a socket diagram not a plug... Since nobody will be looking at socket side of obd2 port when bench flashing, maybe we can "mirror image" the plug diagram so that it looks like the way plug will when you look at it?

Good call. I made the same mistake when I first followed the diagram. I've edited my original post and added a new diagram of the OBDII cable pins that should make the instructions more intuitive.
Logged
julex
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +77/-4
Offline Offline

Posts: 923


« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2011, 05:37:59 PM »

Perfect!
Logged
phila_dot
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +156/-11
Offline Offline

Posts: 1701


« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2011, 10:32:47 PM »

I am looking to replace my shoddy bench harness with something more proffesional. I just received this gem from the FedEx man.



How are you guys connecting to the ATX power supply?
Logged
Matt Danger
Full Member
***

Karma: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 116


« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2011, 08:43:21 AM »

I've since started using a harness to make connecting the ECU and ODB cable easier. I need to solder up the connections, but here's how it's setup for now.




Logged
julex
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +77/-4
Offline Offline

Posts: 923


« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2011, 10:09:19 AM »

[...]

What a mess  Wink

I ended up using a female obd2 plug and soldered/shrink tubed everything but the couple of terminal connectors I slide over ECU pins when bench flashing. Makes life easier and eliminates grave mistakes.
Logged
judeisnotobscure
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +38/-10
Offline Offline

Posts: 379


« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2011, 08:51:14 AM »

I just did this last night... perfect.
I probably had the most ghetto setup yet.
car battery on trickle charge, obdII port and gator clips... still waiting for my ecu connector in the mail.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2011, 08:53:02 AM by judeisnotobscure » Logged

I have a b5 s4
but i just want to dance.
c00teriyf
Newbie
*

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 22


« Reply #12 on: April 26, 2011, 06:37:47 PM »

hello i am having trouble getting this to work. i have everything set up the way it should be and i get power to the cable but its unable to connect to the ecu. could the issue be with my pin 42 and 63 that it might be slightly touching another connector? because i cant get it to not touch another connector slightly. or is the issue somewhere else? i use vag-com, ecux all the time without any issues but have not done bench flashing before. any help would be appreciated. trying to flash using the nefmoto program.
Logged
infinkc
Full Member
***

Karma: +6/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 94


« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2011, 08:33:05 AM »

Anyone interested in this cable? i will be ordering a few from a supplier overseas, they are about $55-60 shipped.

Logged

Matt Danger
Full Member
***

Karma: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 116


« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2011, 11:41:52 AM »

That's pretty nice! Not a bad price for a plug-and-play setup. I think I paid $25 for my ECU and OBD harnesses.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.024 seconds with 16 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)