Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]
Author Topic: How to bench flash your B5 S4 ECU  (Read 86809 times)
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +385/-42
Online Online

Posts: 8791


WWW
« Reply #90 on: April 02, 2014, 09:18:00 PM »

I'm only trying to make it easier for our customers.

Pro tuners that don't trust their distributors/partners have no interest in making anything easier for customers... they simply don't want you flashing their stuff willy nilly.

If anything, they want to make flashing their images as inconvenient as possible.
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
Letstrythis
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #91 on: April 02, 2014, 09:32:52 PM »

Understandably so as they're protecting their investment.

I guess I just assumed because I have the tools to flash the ECU's already, that I could simply make something that I would be able to use those same tools to be able to do it on the bench.

Guess I'm chasing my tail.
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +385/-42
Online Online

Posts: 8791


WWW
« Reply #92 on: April 02, 2014, 11:12:10 PM »

In theory, it is possible you can bootmode flash some kinds of protected images for ME7.1

But there are a million ways for pro-tuners to make even that impossible. I'd say you can't do it w/o more details on their protection schemes, which I doubt they will be very willing to talk about.
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
Letstrythis
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


« Reply #93 on: April 03, 2014, 08:46:53 AM »

Thanks for the help gentleman.
Logged
Bi-turbo
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 164


« Reply #94 on: August 19, 2014, 11:47:24 AM »

Anyone know what the boot pin is for the ecu plug?

What to try and eliminate something, what to boot it via the main ecu plug
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +385/-42
Online Online

Posts: 8791


WWW
« Reply #95 on: August 19, 2014, 01:40:43 PM »

Anyone know what the boot pin is for the ecu plug?

Doesn't go to the ECU connector.

If it was that simple there wouldn't be instructions to short a pad on the PCB.
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
Bi-turbo
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 164


« Reply #96 on: August 19, 2014, 11:35:00 PM »

Im pretty sure i read somwere on here that there was one of the pins on the ecu plug that can place the ecu in boot mode?
Logged
ddillenger
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +614/-19
Offline Offline

Posts: 5647


« Reply #97 on: August 19, 2014, 11:44:30 PM »

Im pretty sure i read somwere on here that there was one of the pins on the ecu plug that can place the ecu in boot mode?

No, you didn't. For some reason you insist on having to be told everything multiple times. There is no way to bootmode the ecu without opening the ecu.
Logged

Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience!

Email/Google chat:
DDillenger84(at)gmail(dot)com

Email>PM
Bi-turbo
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 164


« Reply #98 on: August 20, 2014, 02:39:51 AM »

There's no need to be a dick is there?

I'm only trying to find out 100%
Logged
hytron
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


« Reply #99 on: August 20, 2015, 11:03:23 PM »

For my testing purposes I like to use jetski/motorcycle battery. It provides adequate power and it stays pretty stable which is important. I am not sure about ATX power supplies if they can react quick enough to a voltage drop. I would trust a good battery more than an ATX power supply. Just my opinion.
Logged
adam-
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +80/-20
Offline Offline

Posts: 1659


« Reply #100 on: August 21, 2015, 12:33:52 AM »

Yes, but have the battery on a charger.. There's more risk of the baby battery going dead than a car battery..

Even put the ATX on the battery, would help more than having no supply at all!
Logged

facebook.com/adamforbes92
eliotroyano
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +37/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 698


« Reply #101 on: January 26, 2016, 08:36:25 AM »

Friends I have a big doubt, anyone can confirm if on bench pinout for a I5 20V 2.5L engine with ME7.1.1 ECU is:
Pin 1 -> Ground
Pin 2 -> Ground
Pin 3 -> 12v
Pin 21 -> 12v
Pin 43 -> K-line
Pin 62 -> 12v.

I ask because I have testing it with and without pin 21 and I get all time Not response from controller? But ECU is now 100% working.
Logged
eliotroyano
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +37/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 698


« Reply #102 on: January 27, 2016, 08:27:03 AM »

Friends I have a big doubt, anyone can confirm if on bench pinout for a I5 20V 2.5L engine with ME7.1.1 ECU is:
Pin 1 -> Ground
Pin 2 -> Ground
Pin 3 -> 12v
Pin 21 -> 12v
Pin 43 -> K-line
Pin 62 -> 12v.

I ask because I have testing it with and without pin 21 and I get all time Not response from controller? But ECU is now 100% working.

For your knowledge friends Pin 121 --> +12V due the trick. ECU is a 07K906032J from a MK5 VW Jetta I5 20V 2.5L.
Logged
jose999
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #103 on: February 01, 2016, 02:52:39 PM »

I had troubles to get bootmode 551c box that i can flash with galletto--> opened ecu pin 24 to ground through 1kohm resistor and then power up after that leave pin 24 to ground as long as you are flashing. Work for me.
Logged
Maxwellcom
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


WWW
« Reply #104 on: September 28, 2018, 12:03:50 AM »

Looking at the code, the iriver_flash plugin works on .iriver files.  Is that what you are trying to open?
Logged

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.022 seconds with 16 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)