Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 12
Author Topic: Reading/writing/cloning your immobilizer: A beginners guide.  (Read 178220 times)
24vMk1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 15


« Reply #15 on: June 23, 2014, 01:02:15 PM »

Hi... on Reply #8 aRd asked to immo-off an attached file. Next post from jogtx16v provided new file with immo-off. Inspecting the files I saw there is only a change at offsets $12 and its backup at $22 (along with its corresponding checksums at $1e and $2e). Only changed bit 0 to 0 and bit 1 to 1 . Am I right?... only those two bits are needed to turn immo off? I'm going to do this on my ECU.
Logged
turboat
Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +43/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 619


« Reply #16 on: June 24, 2014, 05:10:54 AM »

Yep, as documented here:
http://nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?topic=2973.msg36532#msg36532

Easiest way is using my tool:
http://nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?topic=6134.0title=
Logged
mikeb52
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 102


« Reply #17 on: June 26, 2014, 03:50:17 PM »

Not wanting to thread jack as the steps are great on this thread, however I get an error message " no echo from cable. ( error=0x07), and then program closes.
I wonder of turb's program will not have this issue? No idea what echo it's looking for as the Kline is a single line.
Anyway, I'm going to download it and see. I need to do more than just immo and vin on my ecu so I will need to learn a ton still but awesome site and helpful thread.
Thx.
Mike.
Logged
turboat
Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +43/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 619


« Reply #18 on: June 27, 2014, 12:33:15 AM »

You still need to use argdub's tool to read/write the EEPROM, my tool just makes the editing stage easier. I suspect you are having driver issues, try posting up info on what cable/driver/os you are using on argdub's thread.
Logged
SB_GLI
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +112/-10
Offline Offline

Posts: 1022


« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2014, 02:39:30 PM »

I wanted to sum up my experience with cloning Immobilizer and VIN data from one ecu to another.  I felt like I had to dig around a bit for this information, so I just wanted to summarize it all here in one post.

I started with a tuned ECU from GIAC and got another ECU as a spare to continue my tuning.  I disabled IMMO in the spare and tuned and ran it with immo off for a while.

I read the 95040 from both ecu's. I only wanted to clone over just the IMMO and VIN specific data in the eeprom.  Of course, I could have just wrote the eeporm from the GIAC ECU to the current one, but there was unisettings tweaks and who knows what GIAC writes to that file...  I just wanted the IMMO data.

Locations in file of data
VIN = 0xB5-0xB9, 0xD0-0xDB AND 0xC5-0xC9, 0xE0-0xEB
SKC = 0x32-0x33 AND 0x42-0x43. (To decode the skc: flip bytes, convert to dec, add leading zero)
IMMO Data (key data shared w/ cluster) = 0x34-0x3A AND 0x44-0x4A
IMMO ID = 0xDC, 0xF0-0xFC AND 0xEC, 0x100-x10C
IMMO ON/OFF=  0x12 AND 0x22 (01 on, 02 off)

I copied the data from each of these locations (using a hex editor) from my previous file to my new tuned file, immo flagged as on of course, checksummed the file and wrote it back to the 95040 on my tuned ecu.  Plugged the ecu back in and the my car fired right up.

Again, this is not new information, I just felt it was a bit scattered through threads and here it is all in one post.

Attached are:
1) screenshots from vcds showing vin and immo ids of both ecus
2) giac.bin is the source of my immo/vin data
3) custom.bin is the file I had been using with IMMO off while tuning
4) customAdapted.bin shows the adapted eeprom with the pertinent data merged from giac.bin
5) customAdapted(checksum).bin is the last file with the checksums corrected.

I am working on an eeprom editor/wizard in visualme7logger (uses me795040 to read and write) for an future release so you can do all this without even thinking about opening up a hex editor or command prompt.  Smiley  Of course you'll have to write your changes back to the ecu in bootmode.
Logged
ljscodex
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #20 on: July 30, 2014, 03:55:21 PM »

pin 24



sorry but, your PIN 24 its the same of ECU CONNECTOR PIN 24?. i didnt understand that.
Logged
fukenbroken
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +153/-12
Online Online

Posts: 1212


mk4 1.8T AUM


« Reply #21 on: July 30, 2014, 03:59:17 PM »

nope
Logged
turboat
Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +43/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 619


« Reply #22 on: July 30, 2014, 04:07:31 PM »

If the boot mode pin was on the ecu connector we wouldn't all be poking around inside our ecus with an earth probe. I like to think someone has checked!
Logged
ljscodex
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #23 on: July 30, 2014, 05:05:04 PM »

so, we need to open ECU and solder one cable to FUKENBROKEN pin24.

that pin could be found at any pin of ecu connector?.
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +572/-145
Online Online

Posts: 11959


WWW
« Reply #24 on: July 30, 2014, 05:47:36 PM »

that pin could be found at any pin of ecu connector?.

NO.

http://s4wiki.com/wiki/Bootmode
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
ddillenger
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +633/-21
Offline Offline

Posts: 5640


« Reply #25 on: July 30, 2014, 06:06:09 PM »


Are you sure?
Logged

Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience!

Email/Google chat:
DDillenger84(at)gmail(dot)com

Email>PM
ljscodex
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #26 on: July 30, 2014, 08:01:24 PM »

so, i ask you...

how unitronic, apr, etc, do this job without pin 24?.
Logged
phila_dot
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +165/-11
Offline Offline

Posts: 1705


« Reply #27 on: July 30, 2014, 08:04:48 PM »

Boot mode isn't required to write the EEPROM.

Argdub only allows writing in bootmode to prevent his tool being used for car theft.
Logged
ljscodex
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #28 on: July 31, 2014, 08:16:34 AM »

Boot mode isn't required to write the EEPROM.

Argdub only allows writing in bootmode to prevent his tool being used for car theft.

OK, so only i need step 3 connections to write eeprom?.

i need disable immo, do i need bootmode?.

Logged
ddillenger
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +633/-21
Offline Offline

Posts: 5640


« Reply #29 on: July 31, 2014, 08:59:47 AM »

OK, so only i need step 3 connections to write eeprom?.

i need disable immo, do i need bootmode?.



Listen. You have been told, and told, and told. You must open the ecu and ground pin24. Asking over and over again will not change the answer.
Logged

Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience!

Email/Google chat:
DDillenger84(at)gmail(dot)com

Email>PM
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 12
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.024 seconds with 17 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.001s, 0q)