Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]
Author Topic: Reading/writing/cloning your immobilizer: A beginners guide.  (Read 61709 times)
vwaudiguy
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +35/-27
Offline Offline

Posts: 1609



« Reply #135 on: December 19, 2016, 04:46:50 PM »

Every single wideband 1.8t ECU i've bootmoded I've had to use a 10k resistor on the boot pin during the WHOLE process.

Every single anyband ecu I've booted did not need a resistor. I don't leave it connected longer than 2-3 sec. during boot up either. Maybe it's a UK thing?  Grin
Logged

"If you have a chinese turbo, that you are worried is going to blow up when you floor it, then LOL."
turboat
Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +35/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 593


« Reply #136 on: December 24, 2016, 10:03:01 AM »

Nah I've never used a resistor on 1.8t widebands. They're probably the easiest ECUs I've worked on.
Logged
jnxtheband
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #137 on: December 26, 2016, 09:05:43 AM »

ground pin 24, power on ecu, count one... two... remove 24 pin and then hit enter in your command
Try different baud rated, this should do the job.

Check adaption channel 91 for immo related information with vcds

i did, all it says is "4"
Logged
f1torrents
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +16/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 299


« Reply #138 on: December 27, 2016, 12:39:34 PM »

4 is adapted.
1 is off



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
316LV
Full Member
***

Karma: +3/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 104


« Reply #139 on: December 27, 2016, 01:24:39 PM »

If you are having difficulty getting it into bootmode, I suggest making a simple push button ground for the pin. That way it is easy to try different intervals of grounding on bootup.

I used a seizer probe to hook onto pin 24, wired it through a momentary switch to an alligator clip. Works great. I've always had success with a five second ground on my 032HS ECU, but my 518AK needed at least eight seconds. Keep trying...
Logged

Go ahead and give me negative karma... I don't care if you like what I post princess.
adam-
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +60/-14
Offline Offline

Posts: 1221


« Reply #140 on: February 13, 2017, 06:14:01 AM »

All of this is voodoo crap that doesn't mean anything - people are associating random acts with success and making them hard and fast rules. Not a good thing.

The boot pin is SAMPLED ON BOOT. Period.
I had tried 2/3/4/5/6/7/8 seconds without success.  Putting it to ground the entire time kept it in bootmode.  Removing it drops it from boot.  I can video it if you want.  3 ECUs all with the same story.

I remember clear as day because the first time I bricked it I was panicking, had tried the method as documented (3 seconds during boot) and it never worked.  The first time I put the resistor to it and kept it there, it worked. 
Logged

facebook.com/adamforbes92
prj
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +187/-75
Offline Offline

Posts: 2764


« Reply #141 on: February 13, 2017, 08:19:27 AM »

I had tried 2/3/4/5/6/7/8 seconds without success.  Putting it to ground the entire time kept it in bootmode.  Removing it drops it from boot.  I can video it if you want.  3 ECUs all with the same story.

I remember clear as day because the first time I bricked it I was panicking, had tried the method as documented (3 seconds during boot) and it never worked.  The first time I put the resistor to it and kept it there, it worked.  

You can't R/W the flash if you keep Pin 24 grounded on a 29F800. For the simple reason that Pin 24 is A0.
Also, once the MCU is in boot, that's it. Until the uploaded program reboots it, it will stay in boot. If the behavior you see is any different then you have a problem in your toolchain or hardware.
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +312/-33
Online Online

Posts: 7579


WWW
« Reply #142 on: February 13, 2017, 11:58:10 AM »

I had tried 2/3/4/5/6/7/8 seconds without success.  Putting it to ground the entire time kept it in bootmode.  Removing it drops it from boot.  I can video it if you want.  3 ECUs all with the same story.

I remember clear as day because the first time I bricked it I was panicking, had tried the method as documented (3 seconds during boot) and it never worked.  The first time I put the resistor to it and kept it there, it worked. 

Tell you what, flash an ECU with the bootmode pin grounded the whole time, and watch what happens.
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.022 seconds with 17 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)