Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: Dedicated bench port so you can leave the ECU in the car and still bench flash  (Read 15914 times)
ericpaulyoung

I could not find any posts on this, but it may be an obvious thing that I am misunderstanding. If this is better posted in the newbe section, just let me know.

OK, so I am new to the bench flashing, and would like to make it quicker to flash the car then go for a drive. Is it possible for me to pull my ECU and solder a 12 pin connector to the pads used to BDM? Then just put a rubber gland seal on the wires coming out of the ECU plastic box so that water cannot get it. The plan would be to reinstall it in the car, and when I need to BDM, I would just disconnect the car battery so that the ECU is powered only by the CMD box, and I can just BDM the ECU sitting in the car as if it was sitting on a bench.

epy
smelly240

What kind of cable are u using for flashing through obd port?  Or are you just bdm?
nyet
Administrator

At some point, it would be best to just get an emulator setup...

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
ericpaulyoung

Would an emulator allow the same level of direct access to the chips?

epy
ericpaulyoung

OK. Here is my first attempt. I must say that soldering on the circuit board is tougher than I expected and I lifted a couple of traces which made it a bitch to get it soldered back on. But in the end it works fine. I will do my other ECU the same way but with a longer lead. Now I just connect directly to the BDM100 without a rack or anything, and I can leave the little connector in the engine compartment and BDM flash without taking out the ECU anymore.