Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: Jetta mk4 AWW 1.8t bin on 2.0L ecu.  (Read 5724 times)
ct17
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« on: September 24, 2015, 10:54:38 PM »

Hi guys, i have an 01 jetta mk4 1.8t aww engine with 06a 906 032 DL ecu, and just picked up an 2.0 8v ecu 06a 906 032 MD (immo 3 car), reading in the forum, i turned immo off on the 2.0l ecu, and flashed an 1.8t bin 06a 906 032 HS bin in to it. Car started and ran fine, but after a few hours, MIL came on, read the codes and throw:

16622/P0238/000568 - Manifold Pressure/Boost Sensor (G31): Signal too High
16497/P0113/000275 - Intake Air Temp. Sensor (G42): Signal too High
16502/P0118/000280 - Engine Coolant Temperature Sensor (G62): Signal too High
17523 - Oxygen (Lambda) Sensor Heating: B1 S1: Short to Ground

what can it be? with the original DL ecu, there is no MIL. Bad bin? bad flash? try another bin?

sorry for my bad english.
Logged
k0mpresd
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +131/-39
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579


« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2015, 10:57:41 PM »

im glad none of your options include "its the completely wrong ecu for the car and thats why it doesnt work".

some of you people need to use your damn brain.
Logged
ct17
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2015, 11:00:29 PM »

ive read on another topic someone else flashed 1.8t bin on 2.0 ecu successfully and his car ran fine with no problems, just thinking if can be a bad bin file. sorry
Logged
adam-
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +81/-21
Offline Offline

Posts: 1678


« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2015, 12:07:30 AM »

As dumb as it sounds, I'm sure I read the same thread where it was stated that it worked.  I wasn't sure that the 2.0 ECU has the capability to drive the N75 valve.

The boost sensor might be an issue too, since the ECU might have hardware internally (resistors), etc, that only allow atmos.  I'm not sure.  Still, buy an ECU for your engine, not an ECU you think you can bolt in. 

If you spent money on this ECU and it's wasted, you're going to have to spend even more buying the right one, and that seems broken.
Logged
k0mpresd
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +131/-39
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579


« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2015, 12:50:58 AM »

some peoples definition of "fine" may not be held to as high of a standard as other peoples.
Logged
ct17
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2015, 02:14:40 PM »

i cleared the codes again, only short to ground on S1B1 o2 sensor, HS bin was 0006 sw, flashed 0008 sw, no fault codes at this time, car pulls and drives fine, i will update if MIl come on again. perhaps the 0006 sw has issues with burning 02 sensors prematurely.

Logged
ddillenger
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +616/-19
Offline Offline

Posts: 5647


« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2015, 03:00:36 PM »

You lose boost control....
Logged

Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience!

Email/Google chat:
DDillenger84(at)gmail(dot)com

Email>PM
adam-
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +81/-21
Offline Offline

Posts: 1678


« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2015, 01:14:06 PM »

I was thinking that.  What boost is it making, if any?
Logged
elRey
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +21/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 530


« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2015, 09:26:11 AM »

dbw 2.0l can drive all 1.8t hardware including, but not limited to, n75, n249, n205, MAP, IAT etc.

single processor 2.0L ECU hardware is identical to transverse AWP single processor ECU. Same for dual processor <-> dual processor.

HS file that OP is working with may need the eeprom cloned aswell.

Is the MD box a single or dual processor?

Software wouldnt short o2. new ecu may be fried if you keep getting o2 short code and you've clear eeprom of any codes.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2015, 09:36:08 AM by elRey » Logged
jogtx16v
Full Member
***

Karma: +6/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 133



« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2015, 09:37:29 AM »

I run 1.8t HS software on 2L ecu and it work very good, no CEL, boost is normal, run perfect...
Logged
k0mpresd
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +131/-39
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579


« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2015, 11:33:37 AM »

dbw 2.0l can drive all 1.8t hardware including, but not limited to, n75, n249, n205, MAP, IAT etc.

single processor 2.0L ECU hardware is identical to transverse AWP single processor ECU. Same for dual processor <-> dual processor.

HS file that OP is working with may need the eeprom cloned aswell.

Is the MD box a single or dual processor?

Software wouldnt short o2. new ecu may be fried if you keep getting o2 short code and you've clear eeprom of any codes.

this has not been my experience.
i have tried this before and no matter what it always throws some type of o2 fault code and seems all around not very happy.
original 1.8t flash and e2p files.
Logged
elRey
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +21/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 530


« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2015, 11:36:56 AM »

hmm our experiences differ then. I've used several 2.0L ecus as replacements for 1.8T. Anything from simple stock replacement, to stage 1/2, to big turbo tunes.

Was the reason you had to replace ecu because the old ecu had the o2 code and was fried? If so, could the o2 code be stored in eeprom and you cloned the eeprom?
« Last Edit: September 29, 2015, 11:40:56 AM by elRey » Logged
k0mpresd
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +131/-39
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579


« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2015, 11:38:08 AM »

never worked for me.
Logged
ddillenger
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +616/-19
Offline Offline

Posts: 5647


« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2015, 11:46:29 AM »

never worked for me.

Likewise.
Logged

Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience!

Email/Google chat:
DDillenger84(at)gmail(dot)com

Email>PM
k0mpresd
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +131/-39
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579


« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2015, 11:48:06 AM »

Was the reason you had to replace ecu because the old ecu had the o2 code and was fried? If so, could the o2 code be stored in eeprom and you cloned the eeprom?

no.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.021 seconds with 16 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)