Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: I have two dead ecus  (Read 30008 times)
_muppet_

« on: August 21, 2011, 10:47:15 AM »

I want to start by saying that I just stumbled onto this forum last night, and this is all very new to me. About a month ago I had an o2 sensor short out in my b5 s4, and now have this code locked in two ecus (a revo stage 2, and a giac/awe stage 3):

18042 - Accelerator Position Sensor 2 (G185): Signal too High
P1634 - 35-00 - -

Both ecus still run the car, but won't come out of limp mode. I replaced the o2 sensor, and bought another ecu. That fixed the issue, but now I have these two bad ecus. I took them apart and neither shows any physical damage. That brings me to the point of finding this forum. I was trying to save these ecus from going in the trash, but I am also wondering if the ecus are toast, can the software still be saved? My new ecu is another awe/giac stage 3 tune, but only has the pump program, and no boost controller. 

So I started playing tonight with the dead stage 3 ecu. I read the flash and saved it to tunerpro, I downloaded the xdf file for the ecu, but made no changes to the bin file. My first thought was maybe I could just re-write the flash to the ecu and the code would be gone. That was probably a silly thought, the ecu is just as it was before. It still runs in limp mode with the same code. I assume the revo box will do the same. But I now have the stage 3 bin file saved, and I also have a spare stock a-box on the shelf. I am wondering what all is actually in the bin file, if I write this file to my spare a-box will I have access to my boost controller? It seems that the giac flashloader must do something to modify the bin file itself to change settings, but there has to be something in the ecu to start with to allow these changes, as my current ecu doesn't have this feature.