Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Software  (Read 1018 times)
jwcgc629

« on: October 13, 2024, 01:40:45 PM »

New here.....trying to navigate all the various elements of the site is a bit challenging.  Basically looking for the location to download the most easily usable version of the NefMoto software....not interested in open source, etc as Im not a programmer.  Just want to be able to read my ECU, and hopefully install a mild tune.  Ordered the suggested cable from Amazon as I see my VCDS KII-USB is not recommended.  Again, just need simple directions, links, etc to get started.  Very tired of trying to work with the commercial tuners such at APR, Motoza, Unitronic.....must be an easier way.  2004 VW Beetle 1.8T (150 hp) 5-sp.  TIA
_nameless

« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2024, 02:41:03 PM »

If you think tuning your own car is going to be easier than opening up your wallet and paying someone to do it for you, you are nuts. I hate to be the bearer of bad new lol, nefmoto IS open source, so there goes that. Also, none is going to hold your hand or step by step by step instruct you on how to use free software, it has been documented here countless times. If you can't watch a youtube video or read a few forum threads, do yourself a favor and toss in the towel. You haven't even mentioned logging or calibration, those are completely separate part from flashing and nefmoto doesn't do any calibration edits you need to use winols or other editing software to accomplish this. 

Giving your mom a tuneup
royce5950

« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2024, 07:17:13 AM »

There is no version of nefmoto that is easier than another.. they all share a nearly identical UI that is so straight forward that someone with little to no experience connecting to their ECU and reading or writing the memory contents even with no experience doing any of these things it should be pretty easy to use the nefmoto application without the risk of breaking anything in the process...