Pages: [1]
Author Topic: B1 Wideband lean Idle, B2 ok. WOT ok  (Read 2465 times)
njallday

« on: April 05, 2019, 03:57:11 PM »

Hello all, first post in this sub-forum because despite the fact that I’m a pretty experienced tech, I can’t quite get to the bottom of this. Maybe I’m overthinking it because it’s my own car and some outside feedback would be much appreciated.

I know a lean idle would immediately indicate a vacuum leak and yes I’ve smoke tested. No leaks on B1.

My car:
F21’s, recent timing belt, 10w40 Amsoil, srm intercoolers, XS power exhaust (catless), XS tubular exhaust manifolds, Bosch 630 ev14’s, stock maf and fuel pump. GET tuning on a conservative boost tune with some timing.

My Issue:
My B1 wideband is reading anywhere from 18-22 Idle/cruising with occasional dips in the 14s. Started about a week ago.
I swapped my wideband from b1 to b2 and b2 idles perfectly between 14.5 and 15.3.
WOT pulls my B1 AFR is between 11.8-12.5. So MAF seems ok as well as fuel pump as it’s keeping up.
Smoke tested today. B2 has a small vacuum leak at the cam chain tensioner, but it is not throwing a code/affecting performance. B1 has absolutely no leaks, boost or vacuum. Spark plugs are new and properly gapped.

The codes I have
P1476- EVAP leak detection pump malfunction (blew apart, not sure how). I capped off the line running to it and the purge solenoid as well. At this point I don’t think it’s part of the equation. As my car ran fine previously.
P0103- MAF signal too high. Stock maf pushing 19lbs on F21’s. Only sets after WOT pulls and reads about 5g/s at idle.

P0130 (I’ve been reviewing this code for a couple months now)- b1s1 circuit malfunction. 02’s were new as of last year and part of my refresh. I replaced both bank sensor 1’s 3 weeks ago preventively; thinking I used a cheap quality sensor (2 eBay yellow box Bosch sensors with Chinese writing). Replaced with blue box Bosch sensors from FCP. P0130 remains.