Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Real time map change  (Read 469 times)
totti
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 104


« on: October 06, 2019, 11:13:07 AM »

Hi,

Is it possible to change the maps in real time, when the engine is running? Currently what I'm doing is modify the bin, flash it and make a log. After that analyze the log and change again the bin and reflash. The reflash time is around 5 minutes and does not matter if I change only 1 bit. I saw some posts about emulators but I cannot find a good manual which one is good and how to use it.

Thanks for the help
Logged
GolfSportWagen
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2019, 04:49:44 PM »

I've often wondered if "tuners" had software to allow real time changes like are possible with breakout boxes used by auto mfgs.
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +436/-57
Offline Offline

Posts: 9930


WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2019, 06:10:11 PM »

yes, not magic, not secret, especially for older ecus that can be trivially modified to use a SRAM based ROM emulator.
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
GolfSportWagen
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2019, 08:09:03 PM »

I'm sure some people would pay for a practical application if cost effective so that they could tune on the dyno or roadway.
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +436/-57
Offline Offline

Posts: 9930


WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2019, 09:58:49 PM »

Yes, and they can get it from moates, depending on ecu
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
GolfSportWagen
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 42


« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2019, 10:26:11 PM »

Thank you. I'm on it !  Smiley
Logged
totti
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 104


« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2019, 02:55:46 AM »

Yes, and they can get it from moates, depending on ecu

Hi nyet!

Can you provide a link what and where to buy?
Logged
d3irb
Newbie
*

Karma: +14/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2019, 01:48:50 PM »

http://nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?topic=7545.0
Logged
totti
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 104


« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2019, 11:28:14 PM »


Thanks I found that. With that it is possible to connect the emulator via the obd connector and I can change the maps while the engine is running?
Logged
prj
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +302/-40
Offline Offline

Posts: 3623


« Reply #9 on: October 08, 2019, 12:17:50 AM »

OBD connector LOL.

Dude, have you even tried going to moates site and looking up how roadrunner works?
You are asking things that can be solved in 30 seconds by just looking on their website.
Logged
totti
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 104


« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2019, 03:19:04 AM »

OBD connector LOL.

Dude, have you even tried going to moates site and looking up how roadrunner works?
You are asking things that can be solved in 30 seconds by just looking on their website.

Yes I've read it. That's why I asked the question. I would like to tune the car during the engine is running. It is possible with ccp/xcp protocol with the newer electronics.
Logged
prj
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +302/-40
Offline Offline

Posts: 3623


« Reply #11 on: October 08, 2019, 03:19:54 AM »

Clearly you did not read it or look at it if you're asking whether it can be connected by OBD.
Logged
gt-innovation
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +45/-31
Offline Offline

Posts: 387


« Reply #12 on: October 08, 2019, 07:43:17 AM »

Yes I've read it. That's why I asked the question. I would like to tune the car during the engine is running. It is possible with ccp/xcp protocol with the newer electronics.

Me7 does not have an integrated ccp/xcp potocol.. they had mcmess but clearly it was not for proper tuning.

https://www.mikrocontroller.net/attachment/115911/mcmess_protocol.txt

Logged
totti
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 104


« Reply #13 on: October 08, 2019, 01:57:08 PM »

i've found a good post about roadrunner and tunerpro https://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?6888829-ME7-Emulator-DIY-version
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.022 seconds with 16 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.001s, 0q)