Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9
Author Topic: How to prepare a spare MED9.1 ECU?  (Read 54402 times)
gman86
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +31/-55
Offline Offline

Posts: 639


« Reply #105 on: November 15, 2016, 03:40:00 AM »

The Cupra (K04) is 1P0907115'C', and my image lines up well with : http://nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?topic=8607.0 plus a couple of others I have found. Although I am creating an XDF.

But not so well to the 1P0907115'H' : http://nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?topic=7685.0title=

A quick google would suggest the 'H' is from a BWA engined 2.0TFSi FR and the 'C' is from the BWJ engine 2.0TFSI Cupra.

If the hardware is the same can I use an 'H' as a clone for a 'C' E2PROM/Flash image.


Apologies, again differences in the part #s.

8P0907115H is from the BHZ S3
Logged
Scott.T
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #106 on: November 23, 2016, 01:42:25 PM »

If I take a full MPPS read of my ECU and then flash this into another (spare) ECU via MPPS connected to my car, will this generate a clone. Or will the immobiliser prevent the ECU from communicating. Hence the need for a Bench/BDM flash.

I understand that the immobiliser data is at 6C00 - 6FFF, which appears to be within my MPPS image. But I guess if the car wont boot the ECU due to immobiliser/key disparity then a bench flash is the only option.

cheers
Logged
prj
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +283/-27
Offline Offline

Posts: 3483


« Reply #107 on: November 24, 2016, 02:16:00 AM »

1. You can't flash the ECU if IMMO is not authenticated.
2. You can't flash 0x0000 through 0x20000 over OBD. Nothing below 0x20000 will get written.
Logged
Scott.T
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


« Reply #108 on: December 28, 2016, 09:56:56 AM »

Guy's, I was aiming to source myself an MED9.1 ECU 1P0907115 to clone but have realised that my ECU has a 'C' on the end and is 1P0907115C. These seem to be a lot rarer and hence more expensive.

Does the lack of C or even an H (instead) make any difference if I am aiming to clone the original 1P0907115C over to the other ECU  ?

Do I need to ensure I use the same hardware P/N 0261S02337 ?

At the prices I am currently seeing for the 'C' version with hardware P/N 0261S02337, it may just be worth stumping up for a fire and forget remap from a reputable local(ish) tuner.
Logged
gman86
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +31/-55
Offline Offline

Posts: 639


« Reply #109 on: December 28, 2016, 10:03:01 AM »

Guy's, I was aiming to source myself an MED9.1 ECU 1P0907115 to clone but have realised that my ECU has a 'C' on the end and is 1P0907115C. These seem to be a lot rarer and hence more expensive.

Does the lack of C or even an H (instead) make any difference if I am aiming to clone the original 1P0907115C over to the other ECU  ?

Do I need to ensure I use the same hardware P/N 0261S02337 ?

At the prices I am currently seeing for the 'C' version with hardware P/N 0261S02337, it may just be worth stumping up for a fire and forget remap from a reputable local(ish) tuner.

I've used MED9.1 TFSI ECUs from different cars with no issues. As long as you flash in the complete flash + EEPROM via BDM it'll be fine.
Logged
littco
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +48/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 883


« Reply #110 on: January 12, 2017, 01:47:17 AM »

Can I just clarify a few things please as there is a lot of information spread over a few threads and some isn't well explained.

1) In order to make a backup of your MED9.1 ECU you need to do a full BDM read ( both eeprom and flash)
2) In order to Clone your MED9.1 ECU you need to copy the full BDM from the original onto your other MED9.1 ECU
3) To make an MED9.1 ECU run on your car which doesn't have your EEPROM reading then it must be De-immo'd
4) To run your original flash on another ECU which has been de-immo'd then you need to copy the flash section 6C00-6FFF from the other ecu flash into your original flash if you BDM the ECU, if you use MPPS then you can just copy the original flash onto the other ecu as MPPS will not write sections 0x00000-0x20000.
5) MPPS will read the complete Flash (not eeprom) including 06C00-06FFF but will not write back 0x00000-0x20000
5) Running an Audi A4 8e0907115 EEPROM on anything other than an A4 will cause the FANS to run constantly
6) You can flash your full BDM to an Audi A4 MED9.1
7) In order to read the ECU via MPPS the Immo must be correct and authenticated or the ecu De-immo'd

Now I have a couple of questions.

1) The immo data at 6C00-6FFF is that matched to the IMMO data in the eeprom, so if I change the VIN number and soft coding of the EEPROM the dash Immo light flashes and the car starts/stops , without the original 6c00-6fff data how can you match the 2?

2) If MPPS doesn't flash over the 0x00000-0x20000 sections does that mean you can flash say 8p0907115h onto a 8p0907115k and the car will start ok as the immo data at 6c00 isn't affected?

3) referring to point 7 above, if the eeprom has the correct immo data or de-immo'd but the flash the wrong 06C00-06FFF will this also stop it being flashed? Does it get the authentication from the eeprom or a combination of both?
« Last Edit: January 12, 2017, 01:54:44 AM by littco » Logged
aef
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +43/-21
Offline Offline

Posts: 1117


« Reply #111 on: January 12, 2017, 05:45:43 AM »

Thank you for your summed up list!

Do you mean MPPS or OBDFlashing in general? What about Galletto V5x? Will it effect 0x00000-0x20000?

Am i able to flash via obd on the bench or do i need the whole immo stuff including dash?
Logged
andrax
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #112 on: January 12, 2017, 10:29:40 AM »

Hi guys, Thanks for the great write up so far!

I have a few questions regarding which data a full BDM contains.

1)I read my ECU with MPPS and I got a 2.048kB file wich is my flash.
Before I start messing with this file, I wanted to have a full backup in case something goes wrong.

2) Asked a friend with BDM to make me a full read wich resulted in a file with 788kB.
Which kind of data contains this full read? I still don't have the 4kB from e2p (which whould be IMMO)

So, in case something goes wrong is enough to have this full read or do I need to read something more?

Shouldn't a full read include flash+e2p??

thanks in advance
Logged
gman86
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +31/-55
Offline Offline

Posts: 639


« Reply #113 on: January 12, 2017, 01:23:31 PM »

Hi guys, Thanks for the great write up so far!

I have a few questions regarding which data a full BDM contains.

1)I read my ECU with MPPS and I got a 2.048kB file wich is my flash.
Before I start messing with this file, I wanted to have a full backup in case something goes wrong.

2) Asked a friend with BDM to make me a full read wich resulted in a file with 788kB.
Which kind of data contains this full read? I still don't have the 4kB from e2p (which whould be IMMO)

So, in case something goes wrong is enough to have this full read or do I need to read something more?

Shouldn't a full read include flash+e2p??

thanks in advance

He's read it with BDM100 and it's dumped it into a Dimsport "backup" file. If you post it here, I can extract your flash and EEPROM for you.
Logged
littco
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +48/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 883


« Reply #114 on: January 12, 2017, 01:33:40 PM »

Hi guys, Thanks for the great write up so far!

I have a few questions regarding which data a full BDM contains.

1)I read my ECU with MPPS and I got a 2.048kB file wich is my flash.
Before I start messing with this file, I wanted to have a full backup in case something goes wrong.

2) Asked a friend with BDM to make me a full read wich resulted in a file with 788kB.
Which kind of data contains this full read? I still don't have the 4kB from e2p (which whould be IMMO)

So, in case something goes wrong is enough to have this full read or do I need to read something more?

Shouldn't a full read include flash+e2p??

thanks in advance

yes the back up file is only about 800kb..
Logged
andrax
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #115 on: January 12, 2017, 01:49:52 PM »

Thanks for the prompt reply guys!
Good to know that I have a complete backup file...
I thought something was wrong because the size of the flash alone is bigger than the backup file.
Here goes what I got...

I took a look with Ols, but I couldnĀ“t figure it out how to extract some info from it. Even the addresses seemed a bit odd!
Logged
littco
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +48/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 883


« Reply #116 on: January 14, 2017, 07:00:30 AM »

CAn anyone explain please the EEProm and how it cross checks the immo data at 6c00

I installed a spare ecu with just the immo off on the eeprom. Car starts and drives fine even the software is different version. However , if I try and change the VIn or softcoding to match the original it either activates the immo ( even though its deimmod) or the car goes into some sort of limp where by it wont rev above 3000rpm...

I'm guessing some data in 6c00-6fff of the flash has to be matched as well but how?

Cheers..
Logged
gman86
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +31/-55
Offline Offline

Posts: 639


« Reply #117 on: January 14, 2017, 02:54:18 PM »

Thanks for the prompt reply guys!
Good to know that I have a complete backup file...
I thought something was wrong because the size of the flash alone is bigger than the backup file.
Here goes what I got...

I took a look with Ols, but I couldnĀ“t figure it out how to extract some info from it. Even the addresses seemed a bit odd!

Odd, I can't seem to export that data. Was it done using CMD?
Logged
andrax
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #118 on: January 21, 2017, 09:31:34 AM »

Odd, I can't seem to export that data. Was it done using CMD?

I am not sure what type of tool he used.
But if you tried with BDM100 and it's not working that means it could have been done with a different tool?
Logged
gman86
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +31/-55
Offline Offline

Posts: 639


« Reply #119 on: January 21, 2017, 07:42:15 PM »

I am not sure what type of tool he used.
But if you tried with BDM100 and it's not working that means it could have been done with a different tool?

BDM100 uses an old cracked version of Dimsport / CMD. I tried with both. Usually a full MPC (inc EEP) is 821KB.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.036 seconds with 17 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)