Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: ECU Read Problem, am I already "tuned"?  (Read 4962 times)
maxcaven
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


« on: August 22, 2014, 08:28:44 PM »

Hey guys, with the help of some other members on the board here, I was able to get the right cable and get NefMoto connected up to my S4. When I bought the car, I was told it was flashed by some company. The P.O. was pretty uniformed and neglected the car. I figured he was wrong/lying about that. I bought the car as a project to fix up, for a very fair price.

I can't fully read the ECU, so I figure I am doing something wrong (which is pretty likely haha) or maybe I am "tuned" and the ECU is blocking me out.

Here is a screenshot from NefMoto, let me know if there is any other info I can provide to help diagnose my problem.

SCREENSHOT DELTED - It was huge, problem fixed.

Thanks a ton guys!
« Last Edit: August 22, 2014, 10:10:22 PM by maxcaven » Logged
ddillenger
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +607/-19
Offline Offline

Posts: 5647


« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2014, 08:44:45 PM »

Unlikely. Download the newest version of the Nefmoto software, connect, then change the baud to 38400 and retry.
Logged

Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience!

Email/Google chat:
DDillenger84(at)gmail(dot)com

Email>PM
maxcaven
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2014, 09:49:43 PM »

You were right!  Grin

Loaded the ECU file. Now I am hoping someone can help me through my first edit. I'm trying to do the EGT delete (already have aftermarket sensors ready to wire if I can code it out) I've opened the BIN file in TunerPro, loaded the XDF file (the one off the S4 tuning wiki), and found the CDATR entry.

What do I now? Right click edit in Bin or XDF? And then what offset am I supposed to change? This is where I am at.



Thanks for the continuing help...
Logged
ddillenger
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +607/-19
Offline Offline

Posts: 5647


« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2014, 09:53:44 PM »

I would hazard a guess that you don't have a 8D0907551M binary-lol. What car/ecu do you have? XDF files are very specific.
Logged

Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience!

Email/Google chat:
DDillenger84(at)gmail(dot)com

Email>PM
maxcaven
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2014, 09:59:19 PM »

Oh snap really? I must have mis-read the wiki. I have a 2000 S4.

Edit: I loaded the XDF from the wiki, the ones it says is "most popular".
« Last Edit: August 22, 2014, 10:09:36 PM by maxcaven » Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +343/-40
Offline Offline

Posts: 8011


WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2014, 11:03:06 PM »

When you connected with nefmoto it should have told you.
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
maxcaven
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2014, 06:56:12 AM »

When you connected with nefmoto it should have told you.

"Switching to KWP1281 session.
KWP1281 connect info: 8D0907551H  2.7l V6/5VT"

That? Haha. If so, where can I get the correct .XDF file for that binary?
« Last Edit: August 23, 2014, 06:57:49 AM by maxcaven » Logged
Marty
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +65/-47
Offline Offline

Posts: 799


« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2014, 07:36:37 AM »

switch to 551m files much more defined
Logged

nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +343/-40
Offline Offline

Posts: 8011


WWW
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2014, 08:47:54 AM »

I have a 2000 S4.

http://s4wiki.com/wiki/Generations#OEM_equipment
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
maxcaven
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


« Reply #9 on: August 24, 2014, 11:41:12 AM »


Alright, so going by that, I have the a-box. Does that mean I have to get the "a-box" XDF file? If so, where can I find that?
Logged
Marty
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +65/-47
Offline Offline

Posts: 799


« Reply #10 on: August 24, 2014, 11:47:15 AM »

Alright, so going by that, I have the a-box. Does that mean I have to get the "a-box" XDF file? If so, where can I find that?
Like I said switch to the M box file / xdf  its 100% compatible 
Logged

maxcaven
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


« Reply #11 on: August 24, 2014, 11:50:14 AM »

Like I said switch to the M box file / xdf  its 100% compatible 


I did, the m-box is the one linked to on the wiki correct? 8D0907551M, ddillenger that wasn't the correct one. Unless I misunderstood him.
Logged
maxcaven
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


« Reply #12 on: August 24, 2014, 11:50:46 AM »

Thanks for the quick replies by the way guys!
Logged
ddillenger
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +607/-19
Offline Offline

Posts: 5647


« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2014, 12:08:06 PM »

You need to use the matching xdf for your file. So, flash the M-box to your ecu and use the M-box xdf.

Just copy MLHFM, MLOFS, and KFKHFM from the 551A!
Logged

Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience!

Email/Google chat:
DDillenger84(at)gmail(dot)com

Email>PM
maxcaven
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2014, 12:11:55 PM »

Ok, I am so confused. I grab that m-box XDF file off the wiki, flash it to my ECU using nefmoto? Then re-read the ECU, load it into tuner pro with the m-box XDF? And where to I switch to 551a? Is that in Nefmoto?

I am 100 percent new at at this and have JUST started playing with this as of last week. Sorry for needing my hand held.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.02 seconds with 17 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.001s, 0q)