Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: NO START - ME7.1.1 A6 just from trying to connect w/ NM flasher??  (Read 20674 times)
NOTORIOUS VR
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +58/-7
Offline Offline

Posts: 1056



I don't get it... All I did was connect and do an attempt to read the ECU so I can have an ORI before flashing.

The reading failed and now the car no longer starts??

Code: 18089 - Control Module Programming Not Finished

I have been unable to do anything to get the car to start at this point.  Anyone have an idea? 

ECU: 4Z7907551S

Logged

SCHNELL ENGINEERING BLOG ·  STANDALONE ECUS · TUNING · DYNO · WIRING · PARTS · VEMS
Google Talk: NOTORIOUS.VR
n00bs start here: http://s4wiki.com/wiki/Tuning
Drludlow
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2012, 07:23:04 AM »

me too 95040 is corrupt, but only when flashed. hope you have a clean 95040 backup. maybe you can rebuild the 95040 image by seeing what happened to mine

http://nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?topic=1779.0title=

Logged
erroob0977
Full Member
***

Karma: +12/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 66


« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2012, 01:06:16 PM »

I've never had this happen while just connecting/reading - but it has happened every time I have tried to flash a 7.1.1 S-box. It seems to be an issue with the S-box .bin, not the ECU hardware as I can flash a 7.1.1 R-box bin to my S-box ECU with no problems (all via NM flasher).

If you need a virgin S-box 95040 file just let me know and I can get it for you off my spare ECU.
Logged

2004 A6 2.7T 6MT: Built motor with SRM RS6/K24s on E85
vwaudiguy
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +53/-37
Offline Offline

Posts: 2024



« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2012, 09:31:20 PM »

Might be a good idea to post that virgin 95040...Sounds like they're going to need it!
Logged

"If you have a chinese turbo, that you are worried is going to blow up when you floor it, then LOL."
julex
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-4
Offline Offline

Posts: 923


« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2012, 08:26:51 AM »

and my checksum correction tool should help you once you edit the 95040 with old immo code.

here is a sample bin... original A6 ecu with S4 bin flashed on top.

However, in the interest of science. Once you fix the ECU, can you read off a virgin 95040 image back, fail the programming again, read 95040 off again for us to see which byte/bit in 95040 tells ECU that programming crapped out in the past? There has to be a flag in that 512 byte block that tells the ECU about programming state.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2012, 08:31:06 AM by julex » Logged
NOTORIOUS VR
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +58/-7
Offline Offline

Posts: 1056


« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2012, 12:23:40 PM »

I ended up download the 95040 with setzi's tool and looked inside, everything was fine.

I took the ECU out, and flashed it w/ Galletto and the car started once again and I was then able to flash with Nefmoto in slow init mode.

BUT... I'm having an issue with the 551R OLS file posted here... No matter if the checksum is corrected or not it seems to brick the ECU after 3 starts.

WinOLS complains every time you open the file that there is missing checksums and although it says it corrects it, even with no changes if you reopen they wrong again.  It also isn't the normal message, but it says something is missing.

The MTX plug in doesn't work at all with the BIN from the OLS either.

Anyone else have this issue?
Logged

SCHNELL ENGINEERING BLOG ·  STANDALONE ECUS · TUNING · DYNO · WIRING · PARTS · VEMS
Google Talk: NOTORIOUS.VR
n00bs start here: http://s4wiki.com/wiki/Tuning
erroob0977
Full Member
***

Karma: +12/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 66


« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2012, 01:00:57 PM »

Are you using the MTX-2002 plugin? The MTX plugin for ME7.1 won't work with ME7.1.1 bins.

I have had no problems using 7.1.1 R-box bin with Tuner Pro, the MTX-2002 plugin, & NM Flasher. Although I have not made many changes (or significant ones) to my bin. I always have an RSA signature error but it hasn't seemed to cause any problems.

Out of curiosity - with the R-box bin you're using, when you connect with VCDS (or use ME7Check) does it show valid HW/SW numbers or question marks/gibberish? ...mine doesn't seem to have valid HW/SW numbers for some reason, It makes me weary but it hasn't caused problems (yet). If boot mode flashing an S bin works fine I may just start doing that.



Logged

2004 A6 2.7T 6MT: Built motor with SRM RS6/K24s on E85
NOTORIOUS VR
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +58/-7
Offline Offline

Posts: 1056


« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2012, 08:56:09 AM »

No when I purchased the MTX plug in I don't think there was a 2002 plug in...

as for ME7check... it shows question marks...


Logged

SCHNELL ENGINEERING BLOG ·  STANDALONE ECUS · TUNING · DYNO · WIRING · PARTS · VEMS
Google Talk: NOTORIOUS.VR
n00bs start here: http://s4wiki.com/wiki/Tuning
NetMofo
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2012, 04:36:21 PM »

I have this problem almost every time I try to connect the NM to my 04 a6.  I always thought it was because I use an old RT Twin USB cable.  It scared me a couple of times when the car wouldn't start and  would throw the 'programming not finished' code - but I noticed that if I perform a full ecu read (to extract the bin file), then disconnect and wait a minute or so, the car starts fine.  Try giving that a shot and see if it helps.
Logged
NetMofo
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2012, 04:50:09 PM »

Whoops, I only saw the first post, didn't realize you resolved your original issue..

I do think I remember reading on here that the 551 OLS file floating around has a bad factor in one of the maps, though.  That may be causing the problems with your S box bin. 
« Last Edit: April 26, 2012, 04:54:23 PM by Big_Dan » Logged
erroob0977
Full Member
***

Karma: +12/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 66


« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2012, 05:38:21 PM »

I have this problem almost every time I try to connect the NM to my 04 a6.  I always thought it was because I use an old RT Twin USB cable.  It scared me a couple of times when the car wouldn't start and  would throw the 'programming not finished' code - but I noticed that if I perform a full ecu read (to extract the bin file), then disconnect and wait a minute or so, the car starts fine.  Try giving that a shot and see if it helps.


For clarification - are you saying you flashed a file and got the 'programming not finished' error, then read that bin back off the ECU & the error was gone?
Logged

2004 A6 2.7T 6MT: Built motor with SRM RS6/K24s on E85
NetMofo
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #11 on: April 30, 2012, 11:47:59 AM »

No, I'm saying that once I connect to the ecu using NM, the ecu goes into programming mode and the only way to get out of this mode is to perform a full ecu read (or write).  This happened before attempting a flash, when trying to retrieve fault codes or ecu information.
 
An additional note: after I flashed the 551R file from here, I didn't have any issues with the P1681 code either.  This leads me to believe it needs to perform a 'full' operation, i.e. a full read or write, to end the programming mode.
Logged
erroob0977
Full Member
***

Karma: +12/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 66


« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2012, 11:05:10 AM »

For anyone else out there wondering, I've just confirmed that if you flash a 4z7907551S bin and get the 'programming not finished' error and the car won't start... Doing a full read of the bin that you just flashed via NM will clear the code and the car starts fine!

Note: Flashing the 4z7907551S bin via boot mode (Galetto in my case) works as well.
Logged

2004 A6 2.7T 6MT: Built motor with SRM RS6/K24s on E85
CoupedUp
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 59


« Reply #13 on: June 04, 2012, 11:07:38 AM »

and my checksum correction tool should help you once you edit the 95040 with old immo code.

here is a sample bin... original A6 ecu with S4 bin flashed on top.

However, in the interest of science. Once you fix the ECU, can you read off a virgin 95040 image back, fail the programming again, read 95040 off again for us to see which byte/bit in 95040 tells ECU that programming crapped out in the past? There has to be a flag in that 512 byte block that tells the ECU about programming state.

Thanks.

Can I flash the above 95040 bin to my 551R ECU? I have a feeling that my ECU has a corrupted 95040 after checking memory layouts on my ME7.1.1 ECU with NM. I can post my "corrupted" 95040 if someone wants to look at a bad one.
Logged
Bische
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +25/-4
Offline Offline

Posts: 396



WWW
« Reply #14 on: October 14, 2012, 06:03:43 AM »

I had the same experience as the OP today on a 04 A4 1.8t BEX 8E0909518AS, after reading out the binary I had the "Programming not finished" code and the car would not start. I tried to read it out again and properly disconnect and cycle the ECU, but it did not properly close the session.

I had to flash the stock binary to close the session and clear the code, however, the read I got cannot be opened in Winols.. It says it connot be opened because the software has already been modified. The file is remapped by some company, so I dont have a clue what they did to it.

I find it odd I cant open it at all, not that I want to continue tune on it, but rather see what they did/did'nt as the car was never fast from the beginning.

Here is the readout:
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.232 seconds with 16 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)