Pages: 1 ... 30 31 [32]
Author Topic: Logging ME7 fast and flexible => ME7Logger  (Read 211373 times)
CodeTurbo
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #465 on: August 20, 2017, 04:34:12 PM »

Hi people,
    Easy question, I haven't been able to use ME7Logger in my Golf 4 1.8T 20V AUQ.
    I have a 12.12 VCDS cable, which has an FTDI chip, should I use a KKL one?. I tryed many things, like VCP drivers from Ross-Tech, standard FTDI drivers, using ME7Logger with -f and with COM port, nothing..., it fails right away.

Thanks!
Logged
aef
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +38/-14
Offline Offline

Posts: 1031


« Reply #466 on: August 21, 2017, 12:47:16 AM »

better post a log of your problem
could be settings, could be shared k-line, could be everything
Logged
BlackT
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 33



« Reply #467 on: August 21, 2017, 08:23:20 AM »

Hi people,
    Easy question, I haven't been able to use ME7Logger in my Golf 4 1.8T 20V AUQ.
    I have a 12.12 VCDS cable, which has an FTDI chip, should I use a KKL one?. I tryed many things, like VCP drivers from Ross-Tech, standard FTDI drivers, using ME7Logger with -f and with COM port, nothing..., it fails right away.

Thanks!
I didn't manage to get work with that cable. same ftdi chip, problem is when instaling drivers for 'dump k-line'  the interface ask to instal ross tech drivers. Do you see your interface under COM ports in device menager?
Logged
CodeTurbo
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #468 on: August 21, 2017, 09:35:02 AM »

Thanks for your answers, here is the error I get:

ME7Logger_DIST_10072013_v1.20\bin\ME7Logger.exe -f basic.cfg

Logged data size is 59 bytes.
Really logged are 33 entries with 59 bytes.
FTDI library version 30214
can't open FTDI interface, error=3
Initialization failed, exiting ...
exiting (cause=0x1)...


As I said, I can use the cable with the VCDS software, but so far with this cable (12.12) I wasn't able to use lemminwinks, unisettings, APR V-Tuning nor ME7Logger, so I think this cable is crap but will be a KKL cable a solution?

My ECU code/version is 06A 906 032 LT
Logged
BlackT
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 33



« Reply #469 on: August 21, 2017, 10:20:39 AM »

read twice what i wrote. And read every faq thread.
Here is litle explanation.  Your laptop/PC is a destination A,your car ECU is destination B. 
FTDI FT232R is a highway, and every other chip inside interface(for HEX,CAN etc. protocols) is some sort of stop
And that is bad, KKL have only FTDI and that why is good. Same that you can read on VCDS site,link is on S4tuning wiki
Logged
CodeTurbo
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #470 on: August 21, 2017, 03:49:31 PM »

Hi BlackT,
    I read what you wrote more than 2 times and also many others threads, here and there.
    Believe, if I wrote here is because nothing worked. I'm asking about KKL cable because the 12.12 didn´t exist when this thread was created and many threads not even mention exactly what cable are using, just say "cheap ebay cable", "ftdi", but not 12.12 or 409.
   I'm a SW Engineer but I'm not specialized in cars (but is my hobby) nor those low-level protocols that ECUs speaks. That is why I'm looking for real help here.

    Thanks again.
Logged
bmw5002
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #471 on: February 07, 2018, 02:40:50 PM »

Any idea what would be involved with making this work for something like MED 9.1? Seems guys are already tuning that ecu... would be great to have a fast datalogger for my 2012 TTRS. :-D
Logged
aef
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +38/-14
Offline Offline

Posts: 1031


« Reply #472 on: June 29, 2018, 03:10:08 AM »

PRJ wrote somewhere what to modify in the bin to make the logger connect with the ecu when the car is running.
I cant find the post again but this would be very useful.

There were two small changes in two spots of the file.

 Huh
Logged
armageddon
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 298


« Reply #473 on: July 02, 2018, 01:32:19 PM »

PRJ wrote somewhere what to modify in the bin to make the logger connect with the ecu when the car is running.
I cant find the post again but this would be very useful.

There were two small changes in two spots of the file.

 Huh

http://nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?;topic=14119.0

for rs4 k-box:

0x35FD2 - 3D 06 -> CC 00
0x77DE4 - 3D 08 -> CC 00
0x78CB6 - 3D 03 -> CC 00
Logged
aef
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +38/-14
Offline Offline

Posts: 1031


« Reply #474 on: July 02, 2018, 11:05:30 PM »

yes yes yes,

thank you!
Logged
brs
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +1/-6
Offline Offline

Posts: 32


« Reply #475 on: October 04, 2018, 03:39:55 PM »

Little help here please... I downloaded and installed winlog. I coppied the ME7L_winlog.dll and libME7Logger.dll into the Winlog directory. i opened up winlog and went to device configuration and set everything up just like in the video... 56000 baudrate 10 samplerate absolute timestamps. i even used the cfg file and dsh file provided by stetzi however when i try to load winlog it pops up and says "error initializing device: ME7logger winlog driver. Would you like to retry" also i noticed when i go to the device configuration like setzi does in the video i do not have a little plus next to the "me7logger winlog driver" that drops down all the variables being logged... can someone maybe help me figure out what i am doing wrong here?

Hi all
I have same issue,any idea ?

Regards
Logged
tweetss4estate
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #476 on: November 25, 2018, 12:40:46 PM »

What is the output? Just telling it can't connect or something more?
Are you referencing the right ecu characteristics file in your trace config?
If a wrong characteristics file is used, the logger could try to connect to a
wrong address.


I'm referencing the characteristics file I created from my ECUs binary.
Used Ecu definition is:
[Communication]
Connect      = SLOW-0x11
Communicate  = HM0
LogSpeed     = 57600
[Identification]
HWNumber           = "0261206776"
SWNumber           = "1037354123"
PartNumber         = "8D0907551G"
SWVersion          = "0001"
EngineId           = "2.7l V6/5VT"

Here's the output:
Logged data size is 101 bytes.
Start connecting to ECU at 02.08.2011 17:17:17.515
try connect slow(11)
try connect slow(11)
Could not connect
=> Could not connect to ECU, exiting ...
=> Logging failed
exiting (cause=0x4)...


I can’t find the Engine ID in the 551M config files. Help please!
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +385/-44
Offline Offline

Posts: 8817


WWW
« Reply #477 on: November 25, 2018, 02:34:52 PM »

What do you need the EngineID for? What files did you look in?
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
tweetss4estate
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #478 on: November 25, 2018, 04:52:13 PM »

What do you need the EngineID for? What files did you look in?

Me7 logger tells me that the engine code should be “2.7T 5V xxx”, and the ecu is coded to say for example “vast file V3”. I am having difficulty copying and then changing one of my 551M config files to work on this car.
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +385/-44
Offline Offline

Posts: 8817


WWW
« Reply #479 on: November 27, 2018, 06:13:07 AM »

ME7Info should generate the correct EngineID if you run it on the BIN you are currently running. Otherwise, you will have to hand edit the config which should work.

Unless the problem is spaces? Carriage returns? Some other character in the EngineID string? You can only really tell by hexediting the bin itself.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2018, 06:15:00 AM by nyet » Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
Pages: 1 ... 30 31 [32]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.024 seconds with 18 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.001s, 0q)