Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 34
Author Topic: Logging ME7 fast and flexible => ME7Logger  (Read 464720 times)
setzi62
Full Member
***

Karma: +142/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 249


« Reply #135 on: January 23, 2012, 02:24:54 AM »

I think you are in the same boat as user s4rmm. He also can't connect to 0x11 while instruments cluster
turned on.
If I ever find the time, I will add a new connection method " double slowinit to 0x01" to the ME7L.
This is a connection method that should always work. The drawback of this is, it is only possible while
the engine is not running on most ecus. But I think it is possible to patch the image so this check is no
longer present and then it should be possible to connect using "double slowinit" even while the engine is running.

If you have access to the cables and dont fear the work, direkt K-line should also be a solution.
Logged
prj
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +905/-420
Offline Offline

Posts: 5790


« Reply #136 on: January 23, 2012, 05:17:00 AM »

s4rmm actually lives in my little town Cheesy
He has a K04 S4, I have RS4.

In older cars, when I wrote fast logging for the ECU (custom protocol), the immo shorted K-Line to ground.
Basically I sent it 5 baud init, then it let through a little bit of data and shut it down again.
I think it's actively monitoring communications and if it sees something it does not like, it shuts down the line in older ECU's.

Do you think the cluster is also shorting K-line to ground? Because if it is, then I will not only need to add a direct K-Line, I will also need to add a switch, which will switch between the normal K-Line and direct K-Line, if I want to log anything else.
Or do you think just bridging the lines will be enough? (that didn't work on older cars for me with Immo 1).

Also, you are saying that engine has to be off - if it is off, and you connect, will it stay connected after you start the engine? If yes, then it's not a problem...
Logged

PM's will not be answered, so don't even try.
Log your car properly.
setzi62
Full Member
***

Karma: +142/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 249


« Reply #137 on: January 23, 2012, 05:27:33 AM »

Oh yes, sorry, forgot that you will need a switch to separate ecu from regular K-line.
I did it using a relais which disconnects the bus from ecu when activated.
When I plug in my diag cable to the new direct-ecu-connector, a bridge between
two otherwise unused pins in the plug activates this relais and I just communicate with the ecu.
If the bridge is not set in the plug, the relais stays released and I can e.g. monitor
the traffic on the K-line at ecu side.

I have made some logic analyzer traces of the diag connector and same time of the ecu
while instrument cluster is on. You can nicely see how the instrument cluster "disturbs"
the line!! I'll prepare them and post in the communication protocols section soon.
Logged
prj
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +905/-420
Offline Offline

Posts: 5790


« Reply #138 on: January 23, 2012, 07:45:06 AM »

Okay, so...
I cut the K-line coming from ECU. Then I put a relay on there (or a three pole), I then connect the ECU to one pole, then to one switched pole I connect the K-line wire that I cut, and to the other switched pole I connect a new K-Line wire.

I then run the new K-Line to the OBD II connector.

Will it work then? Or do I also need to disconnect the cluster from the OBD II connector?
Logged

PM's will not be answered, so don't even try.
Log your car properly.
setzi62
Full Member
***

Karma: +142/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 249


« Reply #139 on: January 23, 2012, 10:16:27 AM »


I just did the following:
                         ( whatever )   Switch       +-----+
  OBD-Connector O--------( is in    )---o____O---+---| ECU |
                         ( the line )            |   +-----+
                                                 |
  NEW-Connector O--------------------------------'


Switch open   -> NEW connector can be used to communicate with ECU.
                       ORIG connector can be used to communicate with all other devices.

Switch closed -> ORIG connector can be used as previously.
                        NEW connector can be used for MONITORING the bus at ecu side.


If you want to use just the original ODB-Connector, you should
disconnect also the original K-line at the connector side.
You need a BYPASS of whatever is in the line between OBD-connector and ECU:

                    Switch    ( whatever )    Switch
                         o----( is in    )----o           +-----+
 OBD-Connector O-----O--__    ( the line )    __--O-------| ECU |
                         o-.                .-o           +-----+
                           |                |         
                           '----------------'         

Logged
prj
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +905/-420
Offline Offline

Posts: 5790


« Reply #140 on: January 23, 2012, 04:59:26 PM »

Ok, I understand, you added a whole separate connector.
Pretty good idea with the relay also, I like that.

I think I will take a 2x2 adapter cable I have, gut it and run the K-Line and power to it, as well as the relay positive voltage or ground.
That should work just fine. I guess I need to start the car first (so immo can talk to ECU), then plug in the connector, and I can log.

Thank you...
Now if you only could add some sort of instant output mode to the logger, so I wouldn't have to hook it to get the data in real time ... but I guess not all wishes can be fulfilled.
Logged

PM's will not be answered, so don't even try.
Log your car properly.
Jason
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +38/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 500


Breaks everything!


« Reply #141 on: January 24, 2012, 04:54:40 PM »

Slightly off-topic but my ECU rebooted while logging tonight exactly when "The Application Experience service entered the stopped state." showed up in the event log.

I'm guessing the ECU was waiting for a message or got an incomplete transmission and decided to reboot?
Logged
TTQS
Guest
« Reply #142 on: January 29, 2012, 04:36:25 AM »

Any chance that lamfawkr_w can be added to the main list, or can somebody post the address for it?

I want to see if lamfaw-lamkr is being used to enrich below lean best torque at WOT instead of lambts on my tune.

Thanks in advance

TTQS
Logged
julex
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-4
Offline Offline

Posts: 923


« Reply #143 on: February 15, 2012, 11:39:07 AM »

I believe that all that needs to be done to successfully use MarkP templates (and others) are some changes to ME7 .ECU/.CFG files and any ECUX template should work without any changes to template itself (which is preferable):

1) Activate [Alias] columns for the .CFG file by removing ";" sign in front of them. This will force logger to use column names from CFG files not .ECU file. Useful for people who want to use one .ECU with multiple .CFG files and not necessarily having mtaching column names, like me...

2) If you want to preserve original vfil_w in km/s:
   Make a copy of vfil_w file in .ECU file, call it vfil_w_miles, and modify "A" column to "0.0048555" (which is a product of original 0.0078125 divided by 1.609 - how many kms in a mile)
   Modify vfil_w line in .CFG file to say vfil_w_miles. You will now log speed in miles
  
   If you don't want to preserve original value, just modify the A column for vfil_w and you're done.

3) IATs. Do the same as in #2 if you want to preserve original variable in Cs. Regardless, the formula changes to A= 1.35, B = - 54.4 and you now log in F.
  Don't ask me in detail how I arrived at that. It takes just a little bit of arithmetic, use two formulas for C to F and the one used in logger and a bit of shuffling stuff around and here it is.

4) Timing retard: Modify dwkrz_0 - dwkrz_5's column A to "-0.75". Retard will now be positive in the logs as originally it is a signed value and is negative.


This leaves one outstanding thing which is timestamps. I will ask Setzi for an option to output EcuX style time stamps in a format "mmm" instead of current "s:mmm". Regardless, a simple replace of "." with "" in excel takes care of this.

Enjoy.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2012, 11:50:52 AM by julex » Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +604/-166
Offline Offline

Posts: 12232


WWW
« Reply #144 on: February 15, 2012, 11:51:23 AM »

btw ECUxPlot can take care of whatever translations you need (including unit conversions), just email me and i'll try to add them.
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
julex
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-4
Offline Offline

Posts: 923


« Reply #145 on: February 16, 2012, 09:08:01 AM »

Ok, I have a .CFG/.ECU combo file that works with any EcuX tool sans the timestamps which would have to be modified by hand. If anybody is interested, give me a word and I will share.

Thanks.
Logged
jibberjive
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +23/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 536


« Reply #146 on: February 16, 2012, 09:28:08 AM »

If only I would've known you were making that last night lol. I've got my own as of a few hours ago.
Logged
julex
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-4
Offline Offline

Posts: 923


« Reply #147 on: February 16, 2012, 09:33:13 AM »

One correction though, tans (IAT) calculation requires: A = 1.35 and B = 54.4 NOT B = -54.4 as I originally posted.

Thanks.
Logged
rkam
Full Member
***

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 55


« Reply #148 on: February 16, 2012, 02:13:04 PM »

I'm not sure if this is supposed to work, but I just tried it on a Volvo ME7 with limited success.

The program was unable to open COM1 where I had a real RS232 to KKL interface.  (-p 1)
serialOpen - Unable to open port (error=2)
can't open serial port 1
Initialization failed, exiting ...
exiting (cause=0x1)...

USB KKL at COM3 gave the same error.

But with -f option I was able to use the USB version.

57600:
INIT Slow 0x11

IN 55 ef 8f

OUT 70
IN  ee

OUT 02 1a 94 b0
IN  0a 5a 94 45 32 45 4e 43 47 57 43 26 (E2ENCGWC) SWNumber

OUT 03 10 86 64 fd
IN  03 50 86 64 3d

OUT 07 83 03 00 01 00 14 00 a2
IN  02 c3 03 c8

OUT 02 1a 81 9d
IN  13 5a 81 04 91 0f 01 03 92 6a 03 93 6a 03 94 68 03 95 68 ff 90

OUT 02 1a 91 ad
IN  12 5a 91 00 00 00 00 00 10 32 22 00 00 00 00 09 47 07 38 f0 (Serial No.103222 , Part No. 09470738)

OUT 02 1a 92 ae
IN  0c 5a 92 30 32 36 31 32 30 34 35 35 39 fa (0261204559) HWNumber

OUT 02 1a 93 af
IN  0c 5a 93 31 30 33 37 33 35 39 34 36 32 01 (1037359462)

OUT 02 1a 94 b0
IN  0a 5a 94 45 32 45 4e 43 47 57 43 26 (E2ENCGWC) SWNumber

OUT 02 1a 95 b1
IN  0a 5a 95 37 30 31 39 37 45 39 5a d9 (70197E9Z)

OUT 05 23 00 e1 b0 04 bd
IN  05 63 00 00 00 00 68


Start connecting to ECU at 16.02.2012 21:58:35.843
try connect slow(11)
=> FLASH (slowinit)
ecuid reports software version
Started session86, speed=57600
-> Read ECU ID's .... done
-> Checked ECU ID's
unknown bootromversion found
=> Logging failed
exiting (cause=0x4)...

Logged
phils8
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #149 on: March 02, 2012, 08:29:59 PM »

I have a RossTech KII-USB cable. Works fine with NefMoto Flasher. Was wondering if ME7Logger can work with this USB cable or just the ebay USB cables?
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10] 11 12 ... 34
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.315 seconds with 17 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)