Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: Is Motronic 7.1.1 usually hard to get into bootmode?  (Read 862 times)
wolfe2118
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« on: August 27, 2018, 05:52:45 AM »

I've been trying for weeks but can't seem to be able to get it.  I've grounded pin 24 for different lengths of time and even soldered a lead directly to the pin thinking that I simply was not getting a good contact but still nothing.  I am using a high quality laboratory grade power supply that I set at 14V DC.

Reading and editing the BIN for IMMO delete was easy.

Is there some way to tell if my ecu is in bootmode?  I am swapping a 01 ART 4.2 into a B6 A4 but this is the last piece of the puzzle.  The engine starts just long enough for me to get excited but is shut down due to the immobilizer.

Any help is appreciated.
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +440/-60
Offline Offline

Posts: 10034


WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2018, 01:04:37 PM »

Yes, some can be annoying, they may need the removal or addition of a pullup resistor, depending on the ecu.
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
wolfe2118
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2018, 05:59:22 PM »

Yes, some can be annoying, they may need the removal or addition of a pullup resistor, depending on the ecu.

I can't find any information on that other than a post saying that it didn't work for them, how is that done? 

I've been working on this for 3 hours and still can't get it.  It gets to the point where it says "initializing monitors" then it fails.  If I try it again without disconnecting the power I get a message saying no communication with ECU.
Logged
Carsinc
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +15/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 448


« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2018, 08:37:46 PM »

Can you post the ecu number? Bottom of the board pic and which version of software you are using to flash?
I know i could do it if i had it...
or you could just have your tuner remove it in the flash file.
Logged
wolfe2118
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2018, 05:48:46 AM »

Can you post the ecu number? Bottom of the board pic and which version of software you are using to flash?
I know i could do it if i had it...
or you could just have your tuner remove it in the flash file.

Here is the ECU, I'll update this post with the picture of the board in a few hours when I get to my tools.  I have tried both versions of ArgDubs tool.  I can read using both but I can't get either to write.



« Last Edit: August 28, 2018, 08:14:07 AM by wolfe2118 » Logged
fukenbroken
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +62/-7
Offline Offline

Posts: 785


mk4 1.8T AUM


« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2019, 06:55:45 PM »

So another one here

022906032JR me7.1.1 dont want to go bootmode

is there any resistor to remove?

able to find some threads with removing 000 resistor but there is a different pcb so im not sure
Logged
fukenbroken
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +62/-7
Offline Offline

Posts: 785


mk4 1.8T AUM


« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2019, 07:00:29 PM »

yay!
Logged
GolfSportWagen
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 44


« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2019, 08:43:18 PM »

ST10 based ECUs seem to be a PITA for most folks including me. The link below shows a 1K ohm resistor jumper that is suppose to be required to get into boot mode. It doesn't work for me on two ST10 ECUs that I have. I like others found that a 2.2K ohm resistor on pin 21 was required just to connect to Nef flashing software.

http://nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?topic=8563.msg76365#msg76365
Logged
fukenbroken
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +62/-7
Offline Offline

Posts: 785


mk4 1.8T AUM


« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2019, 09:59:03 PM »

saw  this one
but theyre different
Logged
macxxx
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +10/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 285


« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2019, 02:40:32 AM »

The only method i did immo off in me 7.1.1 4.2v8 was desoldering epprom - I couldn't do sny of these thru obd
Logged
dilly
Full Member
***

Karma: +7/-20
Offline Offline

Posts: 217



« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2019, 03:19:00 PM »

The only method i did immo off in me 7.1.1 4.2v8 was desoldering epprom - I couldn't do sny of these thru obd
you can't immo off via obd anyway?
Logged
Marty
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +139/-98
Offline Offline

Posts: 1407


« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2019, 08:48:54 PM »

you can't immo off via obd anyway?
Says who?
Logged

fukenbroken
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +62/-7
Offline Offline

Posts: 785


mk4 1.8T AUM


« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2019, 10:09:39 PM »

Literally no one
Back on the track
I've tried to pull out some resistors from pcb with no luck

Time to order standalone?
Logged
dilly
Full Member
***

Karma: +7/-20
Offline Offline

Posts: 217



« Reply #13 on: November 12, 2019, 01:37:14 AM »

Says who?
you can't write straight up over obd(non bootmode)
perhaps you misinterpreted my statement.
Logged
dilly
Full Member
***

Karma: +7/-20
Offline Offline

Posts: 217



« Reply #14 on: November 12, 2019, 01:39:24 AM »

Literally no one
Back on the track
I've tried to pull out some resistors from pcb with no luck

Time to order standalone?
which resistors are you pulling off? would like to know for reference
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.025 seconds with 17 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)