Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 12
Author Topic: Reading/writing/cloning your immobilizer: A beginners guide.  (Read 178223 times)
onsperformance
Newbie
*

Karma: +6/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« on: November 26, 2013, 02:29:19 PM »

Hi I am new to this and have very little to none experience when it comes to command.
In these posts I shall list everything I have learned so far from this Forum and other user's such as ddillenger

Step 1 download ArgDub's software.
there are a few versions:
me7_95040 (page 1)
me7_95040_v1.31 (page 1)
ME7EEPROM (page 12)
and can be found here http://nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?topic=1168.0title=

Step 2 buy a cable
I am using a blue KKL cable. When you plug your cable in windows with find the drivers keep an eye on what COM port it installs under
 

Step 3 bench set-up:
You can make up a rig to work on the ECU out of the car you will need to do the following:




Or you can do it in the car over OBD you will be able to read the ECU but not write to it unless you open the ECU and ground pin 24

Step 4 you will need to put your ECU into bootmode:
In order to enter bootmode you will have to ground out pin24 on the ECU using the following procedure,
1. ecu power off
2. ground pin 24
3. power on ecu.
4. wait 2-3 seconds.  (some people say up to 10 seconds)
5. remove pin 24 ground
6. try to connect

Step 5  opening Command
click on your windows start menu and search cmd
Click on command it will open and you should see something a long these lines
C:\Users\your name>
drag and drop the downloaded file of your choice (most people say v1.31 works best) and it should look like this
C:\Usesrs\your name\Downloads\me7_95040.exe
now hit enter and you should see this


You will see a list of commands
in order to read your ecu you must remember what com port your cable installed to.

C:\Usesrs\Steven\Downloads\me7_95040 --bootmode -r -p 3 95040.bin

and to write

C:\Usesrs\Steven\Downloads\me7_95040 --bootmode -w -p 3 95040.bin

This is as far as I have got next to come will be how to turn the Immobiliser off and correct the check sum. I need to research that try it and then I will up date the thread. Also I hope to flash a new map onto my ECU and I will add that in the future as well


« Last Edit: December 29, 2013, 03:49:36 PM by ddillenger » Logged
fukenbroken
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +153/-12
Offline Offline

Posts: 1212


mk4 1.8T AUM


« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2013, 04:01:04 PM »

pin 24

Logged
onsperformance
Newbie
*

Karma: +6/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2013, 06:16:52 PM »

Part 2
Had a few problems trying to get into boot-mode today the best way I found to enter boot-mode was to power everything up but (Pin 3) and then ground out pin 24. Whilst pin 24 was grounded out I connected pin 3 to 12v after 3 seconds I removed the ground form pin 24 and the ECU went into boot mood.

(The reason I am doing this is because I am doing an engine conversion 1.8T in a Lupo. I was using the ECU loom as my bench loom I have been running out off time and had no choice but to fit the loom in the car. I fitted a plug on the wire going to pin 3 so I was able to unplug pin 3, switch the ignition on hold the ground wire on pin 24 whilst pin 24 was ground out I reconnected pin 3 after 3 seconds removed the ground from pin 24)

NOTICE WHEN I WAS UNABLE TO GET BOOT MODE WHILST THE ECU WAS ON THE CAR THE FUEL PUMP WOULD PRIME ANS THE SENSORS WOULD MAKE NOISES. WHEN THE ECU WENT INTO BOOT MODE THE FUEL PUMP DID NOT PRIME AND THE SENSORS MADE NO NOISES WHEN PIN3 WAS CONNECTED)

After reading the 95040.bin file I saved and edited the file. I saved the new file as immo.bin when trying to write the immo.bin file I was getting:
sending loader + MonitorCore Failed. I tried loads of times still the same problem. I found the solution was that the car battery was to low on voltage (11.2 volts) so I Put a battery charger on  got around (13.5 volts) retried and the sending loader + MonitorCore successfully launched.

Now for the next problum I was getting sending  EEPROM driver ...Fail <error=0x08>
The solution to this is I had to rename the immo.bin file to (95040.bin)

After that head ache I was getting initializing  registers ...Fail <error-0x01>
This is as far as I got lost the will to live for today!!!!!!!! As soon as I find a solution to this I will update.
Logged
f1torrents
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 303


« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2013, 06:23:02 PM »

Try playing with the baud rate.
Logged
MK2-VRT
Full Member
***

Karma: +2/-10
Offline Offline

Posts: 131


« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2013, 02:22:25 PM »

Immo off is easy.. they are 3 different file's
Logged
onsperformance
Newbie
*

Karma: +6/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2013, 04:22:31 PM »

UPDATE
Thanks to f1torrents I played with the baud rate today and got the file to load


I then tryed it on the car and no joy. Come on here and downloaded a file from the link below.
http://nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?topic=542.0

After writing the file this time around I noticed a difference in the screen shots


If you look in the last one it say's 'verifying file' I have not been able to test this on the car yet fingers crossed tomorrow it works.

The ECU I am using is:
AUQ
06A 906 032 HN
0261207440
s/w 0001
Logged
onsperformance
Newbie
*

Karma: +6/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2013, 06:26:10 AM »

Just to confirm this worked 100%
Logged
f1torrents
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +17/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 303


« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2013, 06:51:06 AM »

In the future you should modify your original EEPROM instead if using the generic IMMO off ones floating around.
They are useful if you are in a bind. But having the original file is always the best route to take.

Glad you got it working.
Logged
aRd
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2014, 04:20:15 AM »

Hi

can someone turn the immo off in this file please

Thank you
Logged
jogtx16v
Full Member
***

Karma: +6/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 139



« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2014, 08:54:59 AM »

hello welcome to the forum. your immo off are here.
Logged
aRd
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2014, 09:11:42 AM »

hello welcome to the forum. your immo off are here.

Thank you
Logged
aRd
Newbie
*

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2014, 09:51:14 AM »

Worked a treat,   great forum
Logged
TC1767
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2014, 11:32:03 AM »

Hello,

does this program do any changes when writing ?
Because I wrote an EEProm File, read it out again and there are two values different ?

EDIT: All ok now :-)
« Last Edit: February 25, 2014, 12:11:06 PM by TC1767 » Logged
c11rgd
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 9


« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2014, 12:35:41 PM »

How can i access the me7.5 immo chip using the soldering method/ as i dont have the Kline cable.
Logged
turboat
Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +43/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 619


« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2014, 07:49:32 AM »

If you dont have the kit for desoldering the eeprom and reading it, your best bet is to buy a kline cable for $10.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 12
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.023 seconds with 16 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)