Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
Author Topic: Nefmoto Getting Started Guide  (Read 135018 times)
lkomnino
Full Member
***

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 51


« Reply #30 on: June 14, 2018, 10:52:44 AM »

Tried another method: http://nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?topic=5068.0#msg49080
no joy.
Logged
prj
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +523/-155
Offline Offline

Posts: 4742


« Reply #31 on: June 14, 2018, 10:55:56 AM »

You need to clone it in boot or use a tool that supports immobilizer bypass.

RequestUpload needs securityaccess to pass in programming session and that's not gonna happen with the immo not authenticated.
Same for RequestDownload.

The ECU content can be read using another method, but not with the tools available here.
Logged

PM's will not be answered, so don't even try.
nhyze
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #32 on: June 30, 2018, 11:55:06 PM »

This Cable works ?



https://www.ebay.de/itm/183127997752?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&fromMakeTrack=true
Logged
316LV
Full Member
***

Karma: +12/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 150


« Reply #33 on: July 01, 2018, 11:12:35 AM »

I bought one that looked exactly the same from a different seller and it worked. It has the FT232 chip which is the important part...
Logged

Go ahead and give me negative karma... I don't care if you like what I post princess.
12cscott
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


« Reply #34 on: June 16, 2019, 09:09:50 AM »

Ok when i try to flash read i get immobilizer not authenticated what do i need to do

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +572/-145
Online Online

Posts: 11959


WWW
« Reply #35 on: June 16, 2019, 02:44:40 PM »

Ok when i try to flash read i get immobilizer not authenticated what do i need to do

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk



Did you actually read this? http://nefariousmotorsports.com/forum/index.php?topic=6537.msg116267#msg116267
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
Blazius
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +77/-32
Offline Offline

Posts: 1154



« Reply #36 on: June 16, 2019, 03:17:40 PM »


Pulling the immo ( ic fuse) wouldnt work? sometimes my mpps doesnt do flash thru obd, but i pull ic fuse, cycle key, put it back in and it works Cheesy American cars dont/shouldnt have immo btw.
Logged
12cscott
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


« Reply #37 on: June 16, 2019, 04:37:39 PM »

I did I am trying to flash an immo off  eemprom but got this error the last time I tried  Searching Chip_Select pin ... FAIL. (error=0x01) to fix it if I know what part of the code to change I would flash with Galleto 1260  



Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

Logged
GolfSportWagen
Full Member
***

Karma: +10/-10
Offline Offline

Posts: 100


« Reply #38 on: October 10, 2019, 09:27:48 PM »

Followed the Getting Started Guide using a supposedly genuine VAG KKK-Line USB cable. When I plug the USB cable in it installs the latest FTDI 2xxx drivers in Win 10 but in the Events section of the driver I get this message:

“Device FTDIBUS\VID_0403+PID_6001+47514789A\0000 requires further installation.”

I searched online and the MS support forum states this is an ongoing issue...

I suspect this is the reason why I am getting the following error message over and over even after refreshing and repowering the ECU when I try to use the Nefmoto software:

“Failed to read test echo from FTDI device.”

Has anyone been able to get Win10 to read a ME 7.1.1 ECU and if so do you show the "...further installation required" in the driver events section?

I have confirmed the bench harness is wired correctly and the voltages and grounds on the PCB are correct.

TIA
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +572/-145
Online Online

Posts: 11959


WWW
« Reply #39 on: October 10, 2019, 09:40:59 PM »

Yes, ME7.1.1 works fine in win10. Try another cable.
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
GolfSportWagen
Full Member
***

Karma: +10/-10
Offline Offline

Posts: 100


« Reply #40 on: October 10, 2019, 09:43:08 PM »

Thanks nyet. Can you or someone else confirm if the message in the driver Events area exist because MS says this is an ongoing issue. Device manager claims the device is installed and properly working but it does not appear to be the case. I'll need to purchase another cable to do any further testing.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2019, 09:47:47 PM by GolfSportWagen » Logged
GolfSportWagen
Full Member
***

Karma: +10/-10
Offline Offline

Posts: 100


« Reply #41 on: October 20, 2019, 05:25:58 PM »

UPDATE:

It turned out to be a Windows issue with failing to properly install updates even though there were no error messages and no yellow exclamation icons in the driver settings. The solution was to use the Windows Media Creation download to "Update this PC" which reinstalled everything. This is a known issue in WIN 10 V. 1803 and 1903.

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_10-hardware/i-have-win-10-v-1903-installed-and-i-get-the/f8e98d77-cc7b-49da-a7ac-59ec36b24c25?tm=1571356948589
Logged
GolfSportWagen
Full Member
***

Karma: +10/-10
Offline Offline

Posts: 100


« Reply #42 on: December 07, 2019, 08:16:29 PM »

For anyone working with a ME 7.1.1 ECU with the ST10 chip you might want to try a MPPS cable to read the ECU as the Nef software was unable to read mine with a K-Line cable and the Galletto cable only works in boot mode which is not always possible with ST10 chipped ECUs contrary to the jumper permutations shown in pics online.

The MPPS cable worked for me and the 64 bit driver worked fine under Win 10 even though the Ebay sellers know nothing about Win 10.

https://www.ebay.com/i/254061717723?chn=ps&norover=1&mkevt=1&mkrid=711-117182-37290-0&mkcid=2&itemid=254061717723&targetid=475515278101&device=c&mktype=pla&googleloc=9016917&poi=&campaignid=6469750705&mkgroupid=78329391340&rlsatarget=pla-475515278101&abcId=1141176&merchantid=101701404&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI6N30qNe45QIVAdbACh2lqAUMEAQYAyABEgJ_K_D_BwE

Earlier and cheaper MPPS cables (version V13 I believe), will also work with ST10 chipped ECUs but the included drivers may not work for Win 7 or Win 10 so choose accordingly.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2019, 08:19:03 PM by GolfSportWagen » Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +572/-145
Online Online

Posts: 11959


WWW
« Reply #43 on: December 09, 2019, 10:44:47 AM »

This is a tricky topic because while Nef does not work with ST10 (which is the main gap in documentation, since it isn't clear how to tell a user to determine if their ecu is ST10), bootmode will work with galletto and any cable (assuming the galletto exe is hacked correctly).

What confuses people further is that getting many ME7.1.1 ecus (st10 and otherwise) into bootmode can be challenging.

So there are a ton of moving parts here, not all of which I know how to document in shortform w/o being overly confusing in a "getting started guide"
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
GolfSportWagen
Full Member
***

Karma: +10/-10
Offline Offline

Posts: 100


« Reply #44 on: December 09, 2019, 06:08:33 PM »

Yup it can be a real cluster. That's why I suggested that the MPPS cable might be a better choice for most people if they open the ECU and determine they have the ST10 chip.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.022 seconds with 16 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)