Pages: 1 [2] 3
Author Topic: CAN-bus configuration and eliminating CAN related errors  (Read 31434 times)
ddillenger
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +637/-21
Offline Offline

Posts: 5640


« Reply #15 on: February 19, 2013, 10:40:50 AM »

I don't want to disable the entire gateway, i was asking for clarification of how the instrument cluster utilizes it.
Logged

Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience!

Email/Google chat:
DDillenger84(at)gmail(dot)com

Email>PM
prj
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +903/-420
Offline Offline

Posts: 5789


« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2013, 10:43:18 AM »

I don't want to disable the entire gateway, i was asking for clarification of how the instrument cluster utilizes it.

You are not disabling the entire gateway, the code is there because the instrument cluster does not send any CAN messages to the ECU, while the ECU expects them.
It still works the other way around.

Just look at the FR once, is it really so hard?
Logged

PM's will not be answered, so don't even try.
Log your car properly.
MadCow
Full Member
***

Karma: +2/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 108


« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2013, 11:08:25 AM »

CW_CAN_S.

Send and Receive.

Yes, it's /that/ obvious, which is why any time people ask for clarification on this thing, it is pretty obvious to me they haven't bothered looking.

There's CAN_S, CAN_R, and CAN_C, I was talking about CAN_C. S and R are pretty obvious, but C has no description and references communication with the brakes, allrad(wheel?) and transmission.
Logged
prj
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +903/-420
Offline Offline

Posts: 5789


« Reply #18 on: February 19, 2013, 11:53:25 AM »

You can ignore _C, it is only used if something is coded incorrectly.
Logged

PM's will not be answered, so don't even try.
Log your car properly.
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +604/-166
Online Online

Posts: 12232


WWW
« Reply #19 on: February 19, 2013, 12:03:29 PM »

so CW_CAN_R.5 = 0 tells the ECU not to expect any signals from the cluster?
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
s5fourdoor
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +33/-3
Offline Offline

Posts: 617


« Reply #20 on: February 19, 2013, 01:26:17 PM »

here's what i do see for m-box at least:

cw_can_s_0_a     0x12C80       default value: 255
cw_can_s_1_a     0x12C82       default value: 255
cw_can_r_0_a     0x12C7A       default value:   32
cw_can_r_1_a     0x12C7C       default value:   36
cw_can_r_2_a     0x12C7E       default value:  100
cw_can_c           0x10191       default value:   69


please enlighten.  heh
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +604/-166
Online Online

Posts: 12232


WWW
« Reply #21 on: February 19, 2013, 02:19:25 PM »

cw_can_r_0_a     0x12C7A       default value:   32

If i had to guess, this would be bit 5 of CW_CAN_R
Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
MadCow
Full Member
***

Karma: +2/-1
Offline Offline

Posts: 108


« Reply #22 on: February 19, 2013, 02:47:51 PM »

Weird,in the TT damos the 3 can_r values are the same, but they're different in yours which doesn't really make sense. Also, what's the difference between Bremse 1 and 3?
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +604/-166
Online Online

Posts: 12232


WWW
« Reply #23 on: February 19, 2013, 02:48:31 PM »

Code:
cw_can_r_0_a     0x12C7A       default value:   32 - 0010 0000      bit 5
cw_can_r_1_a     0x12C7C       default value:   36 - 0010 0100      bit 10, 13
cw_can_r_2_a     0x12C7E       default value:  100 - 0110 0100      bit 18, 21, 22

Unfortunately, the FR only defines the first 16 bits, of which:

5 - Kombi 1, 2, 3
10 - Botschaft Fahrwerk
13 - % CANSEN
« Last Edit: February 19, 2013, 02:53:41 PM by nyet » Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
phila_dot
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +170/-11
Offline Offline

Posts: 1709


« Reply #24 on: February 19, 2013, 03:09:07 PM »

Code:
cw_can_r_0_a     0x12C7A       default value:   32 - 0010 0000      bit 5
cw_can_r_1_a     0x12C7C       default value:   36 - 0010 0100      bit 10, 13
cw_can_r_2_a     0x12C7E       default value:  100 - 0110 0100      bit 18, 21, 22

Unfortunately, the FR only defines the first 16 bits, of which:

5 - Kombi 1, 2, 3
10 - Botschaft Fahrwerk
13 - % CANSEN


There is only 16 bits to define. They are different variants of the same codeword for variant coding.
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +604/-166
Online Online

Posts: 12232


WWW
« Reply #25 on: February 19, 2013, 03:20:30 PM »

Okey doke, so lets amend that to EACH being 16 bit:

Code:
cw_can_r_0_a     0x12C7A       default value:   32 - 0010 0000      bit 5
cw_can_r_1_a     0x12C7C       default value:   36 - 0010 0100      bit 2, 5
cw_can_r_2_a     0x12C7E       default value:  100 - 0110 0100      bit 2, 5, 6

2 - Botschaft Bremse 1
5 - Kombi 1, 2, 3
6 - Botschaft Allrad 1

So, which variant is the one in use?

or just clear bit 5 in each:

Code:
cw_can_r_0_a     0x12C7A       0 - 0000 0000     
cw_can_r_1_a     0x12C7C       4 - 0000 0100      bit 2
cw_can_r_2_a     0x12C7E      68 - 0100 0100      bit 2, 6


« Last Edit: February 19, 2013, 03:22:52 PM by nyet » Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
phila_dot
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +170/-11
Offline Offline

Posts: 1709


« Reply #26 on: February 19, 2013, 03:27:44 PM »

Okey doke, so lets amend that to EACH being 16 bit:

Code:
cw_can_r_0_a     0x12C7A       default value:   32 - 0010 0000      bit 5
cw_can_r_1_a     0x12C7C       default value:   36 - 0010 0100      bit 2, 5
cw_can_r_2_a     0x12C7E       default value:  100 - 0110 0100      bit 2, 5, 6

2 - Botschaft Bremse 1
5 - Kombi 1, 2, 3
6 - Botschaft Allrad 1

So, which variant is the one in use?

or just clear bit 5 in each:

Code:
cw_can_r_0_a     0x12C7A       0 - 0000 0000     
cw_can_r_1_a     0x12C7C       4 - 0000 0100      bit 2
cw_can_r_2_a     0x12C7E      68 - 0100 0100      bit 2, 6




0
Logged
phila_dot
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +170/-11
Offline Offline

Posts: 1709


« Reply #27 on: February 19, 2013, 03:39:49 PM »

CW_CAN_R_0 is referenced directly and offset by a byte variable. The byte variable is the sum of 0x81ED77 + 0. In the M-box, 0x81ED77 is 0.
Logged
nyet
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +604/-166
Online Online

Posts: 12232


WWW
« Reply #28 on: February 19, 2013, 04:16:16 PM »

Thanks phila.

Anybody want to test this?

Should be easy to do, just unplug the cluster and see if the ecu throws the code.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2013, 04:17:48 PM by nyet » Logged

ME7.1 tuning guide (READ FIRST)
ECUx Plot
ME7Sum checksum checker/corrrector for ME7.x

Please do not ask me for tunes. I'm here to help people make their own.

Do not PM me technical questions! Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience.
ddillenger
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +637/-21
Offline Offline

Posts: 5640


« Reply #29 on: February 19, 2013, 04:51:57 PM »

What do you want me to do. My car throws p1650 in it's current configuration.
Logged

Please, ask all questions on the forums! Doing so will ensure the next person with the same issue gets the opportunity to learn from your experience!

Email/Google chat:
DDillenger84(at)gmail(dot)com

Email>PM
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Page created in 0.023 seconds with 17 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0s, 0q)